Why I just Cornered the Market in a 2nd Splinterlands Alpha Gold Foil Legendary Card

in #mene4 years ago (edited)

0CEEE9F2-74C7-46E2-9B1B-B6B579C9148D.jpeg

I’ve been slowly building a position in @splinterlands cards for a couple years. Read a few posts behind my rationale for background:

https://steemit.com/mene/@goldmatters/why-i-bought-36-84-of-the-alpha-gold-foil-lightning-dragon-supply

https://steemit.com/mene/@goldmatters/why-i-bought-31-5-of-the-alpha-gold-foil-lightning-dragon-supply

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@goldmatters/why-i-bought-26-of-the-alpha-gold-foil-lightning-dragon-supply

Today a few factors converged to inspire me to increase this speculative investment.

6A4E5B2C-502D-4292-B5A7-484A019FC92C.jpeg

I’ve made clear in previous posts that I am only interested in speculating on the most rare cards in Splinterlands. Cards that cannot be BRRRRed (thats the sound of a money printer) into existence beyond what a reasonable market participant would want to be diluted by.

Only Alpha Gold Foil Legendaries interest me in this way (im also in the market for a GFL PJ if anyone knows a seller) because generally their full print run is mostly known. There are something like 7,000 unopened alpha packs (out of the original 300k) and I am fully aware that a small amount of dilution could still come to my cards

Mostly though, the numbers are known and they are extremely rare in comparison to the current user base and tiny relative to the blue sky potential of the game growing.... and i wouldn’t be buying these cards if I didnt think the game couldn’t grow beyond its current players.

Ive noticed that more and more of the Alpha GFL Chromatic Dragon have come to the market, pushing down the prices:

8A219F74-37DD-4E54-8917-FABE8B4888F8.jpeg

We are talking about the 5th rarest card in the game ( I already own the 1st, 3rd, and 4th rarest). I’m not counting early untamed GFL that have much more dilution coming.

Some might argue that the fact that so many GFL chromatic dragons are up for sale means they are a less desired card and thus have less potential value.

The counter argument I am making is that maybe any ONE chromo is less desired, but what I’m investing in is a cornering of a market. Because so many chromos were for sale, this gave one person (me) the opportunity to pick up a bunch of them and now own 37.5% of that particular market.

Future Splinterlands players may find that we have additional benefits for this type of card or perhaps want to complete a set. They will have to come to me for this missing card which has now become extremely expensive.

D5CF202C-CFBD-4CA5-AA3E-046F1C9A3EDB.jpeg

As an early adopter of @splinterlands, I tend to view the game as it was first pitched, which is more crypto speculation and also a game. It’s an investment I can play with. Read more:

https://hive.blog/splinterlands/@goldmatters/splinterlands-investment-or-game

As far as I know there is only one other person that is using this market cornering strategy in a different but very effective way. Most players know that @mattclarke has gobbled up many many Flesh Golems in what I think is a brilliant strategy to corner that market.

Anything can still happen with this game but I am still generally optimistic that @yabapmatt and @aggroed are keeping their focus on the original objectives and vision of the game:

to increase player card value.

I think the devs have done a very solid job of progressing the game moving us all forward as a player base. Startups are very challenging and being in the crypto space has had very unique obstacles in this young Company’s history.

I’m greatly looking forward to see what comes next in this investment\game and if opportunities arise I will continue to make strategic speculative investments as they come:)

Enjoy this promo by @goldfashioned (contrary to popular belief we are not the same person!)

PS: Idea to get us major growth in the game: https://steemit.com/splinterlands/@goldmatters/top-5-reasons-splinterlands-should-go-on-shark-tank

If you also like 24 karat gold and platinum jewelry sold by gram weight, join my Mene Maniac community where I on occasion give away valuable and scarce Splinterlands cards, with community members getting a head start!

8F2B18F2-652A-4159-826A-7F0F8E1AAB55.jpeg

Earn $5 in Mene credit for signing up for Mene with this invite link:

http://mene.com/invite/JrT26p‪

Join the Mene Maniac Community! https://hive.blog/trending/hive-111580

Or just scan this with your phone camera:

FAAA01A0-D922-436A-B68E-9CE62128C558.jpeg

C247AB9A-23F7-4B35-9268-969E22176274.jpeg

79CAAC64-1E6B-4479-83EE-A878C15E177F.jpeg

Investor Presentation: https://mene.com/investors/docs/Investor_Presentation.pdf

Check out my instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BxcsiABhzzv/?igshid=ozavtepl1r2f

Earn $5 in Mene credit for signing up for Mene with this invite link:

http://mene.com/invite/JrT26p

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

Sign up for Splinterlands: https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=goldmatters

Investor Relations Presents:

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney\Mene allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

The above references an opinion and is for information purposes only. It is not intended to be investment advice. Seek a duly licensed professional for investment advice.

See Steemians unbox Mene:

Sort:  

Nicely done. Yes, it's a game within a game.
On paper, I have $30K worth of Alpha flesh golems, but as many people have pointed out, trying to sell would spook the market and tank the price.
I don't need to sell, though. I can just lease them out.
As you mentioned, some future game mechanic may make any particular card ideal for a given purpose. If somebody wants one, they have to come to me.
It's honestly my favourite part of the game.

There is also the possibility that someone would buy the entire lot at once from you...

That's the only way I'd sell them. If somebody wants 25%+ of an Alpha card now, they're going to have to pay an insane amount of money.
You and I are their only reasonable option; and I'm far from reasonable, when it comes to my boys :)

Well said Matt Clarke :)

Wow, that's crazy and impressive!

Thanks @jackw :) you are one of the all time greats of this game!

Wao gold in real life and in splinterlands... hahaha....Makes my eyes shine.
Best investment. You holding 37.5% of the card, hope you are not gonna monopolize the market.😄