Why I DON'T Wake Up At 5am and Neither Should You!

in #mindset6 years ago

Does getting up at 5am everyday make you successful? What if you don’t, will you ever be successful? Will you be a big fat failure if you don’t?


These are the questions I ask myself when I hear this homogenized advice, and of course the answers to these questions are no, yes and no! If I listened to certain personal development teachers I would come to the conclusion that I will never be rich, successful or happy. However, my belief is that by honoring yourself and knowing yourself YOU WILL become rich, successful AND happy.


I am a night owl and everyone is different and to tell everyone to get up at 5am is homogenizing everyone. We are all unique, with different strengths and weaknesses. I say do whatever feels natural to you and your body. My best work occurs during the hours on 10pm + midnight. If I listened to certain personal development teachers I would feel s**t about myself 24/7, I would be putting myself under copious amounts of pressure and stress by trying to be something that I truly aren't. Isn't the whole point of personal development about becoming the person you were born to be?


Why are you waking up at 5am? Because Jim Rohn, Les Brown or ... told you to? 



Realistically, being tired can make you counter productive throughout the day. By getting a good night's sleep and allowing yourself to wake up naturally without an alarm, will simply make you more productive. 


The benefits for waking up at 5am are:

  • This quiet uninterrupted time can give you focus
  • Fresh clear mind
  • Great time to create new habits
  • A time to dedicate towards personal growth
  • Builds discipline

The benefits for waking up naturally and staying up late are: 

  • This quiet uninterrupted time can give you focus
  • Fresh clear mind
  • Great time to create new habits
  • A time to dedicate towards personal growth
  • Builds discipline


LOL, I know I’ve repeated myself, I’ve not gone crackers. What I am saying is that all the benefits for waking up at 5am apply for staying up late. 


When are you more productive? Would getting up at 5am help or hinder you?

My suggestion to you if you are unsure, is to run an experiment with your daily routine. Try getting up at 5am for 7 days and record your findings, then do the same by going to bed at 12am.

The whole point of life is finding and accepting yourself.


 

Sort:  

I love the whole point of the story, loving one self, these days we have so a many books telling us to do this and do that and by the time you do all those you see that happiness is really a thing that comes from the inside not the outside(books, audio tapes etc),.

Exactly, we are given so much homogenized advice which we believe to be true that when we don't meet these impossible standards we start hating upon ourselves and tell ourselves are 'aren't good enough'. Knowing and more importantly loving yourself is the most important thing in life , then when you hear any external advice/information you can choose whether is it true for you ... or not!