Upgrading The Vertical Mining Farm - My Adventure!

in #mining7 years ago

You can call me GoPlayOnline! I just started attaining Bitcoin this year, in 2017! I really wish i got into cryptocurrencies earlier! But its never too late for Crypto! I would like to share my ADVENTURE into all these great cryptocurrencies!

When I started, just a few months ago, I heard that coinbase was the best way to buy and sell bitcoin, and quickly realized that coinbase does not support users in Wyoming...and as such..that is where I'm at! Wyoming keeps it old school. I think you can still be hung if you steal a horse, but thats a bit off topic! From searching i found Paxful, which helped me attain my First BITCOIN!!
a6.jpg

Then from watching Youtube, I found out about the Antminer Series, which got me hooked! From the on, I was watching those farm videos. I had to get one! I went on Bitmain and begun window shopping! Thinking i could buy this machine with USD, which i quickly found out my bank doesn't like bitcoin and denied sending my money to purchase "Products of Digital Currencies." I couldn't believe they would deny me to send my own money. I could see if I wanted a loan for one of these, but this was my cash in account. I then went to Amazon and attempted to purchase an Antminer several times and either, they wouldn't send it, or cancel. I finally got a limited edition 11.5t S9 in the mail and was very excited to be able to start mining. I plugged it into my EVGA 1600watt PSU and....guess what....

a7.jpg
One Hash board did not light up and wasnt working

I was so very disapointed! The seller told me i could send the hashboard or the entire machine back, and i decided to take a refund and just spend the 1 BTC i worked very hard to attain, when it was right around gold. $100 got me .06 BTC and now its only .03 if that! I ended up paying just over 1 BTC for a 13.5t S9. BRAND NEW, which was important to me since I went thru such hard problems buying used. It was really difficult for me to begin mining, it was a STRUGGLE! When i finally recieved my S9 in the mail, i was ready for it! I had built a box to make my new S9 blow the heat STRAIGHT up! ^^ here is my first build!
3.jpg
a little shelf for the psu..
1.jpg
This box is made out of HardWood Maple, Then i put Sound Deadner inside that, and then i put 8" insulated Flexduct, and then to some 8 to 6 and 6 to 5 reducers to get to some 3D printed exhaust addons. I placed them on the intake and the exhaust, the intake side had an 8" Dust guard on it.
2.jpg
This is where the Antminer will go. Easy plug in to external PSU.
4.jpg
added a little egg sound proofing foam on the top, directly over the miner.

Looking down the top...
Now it was time to put all the pieces together and plug it in!
6.jpg
i added a 200mm fan to blow cool air directly on the hashboards and CPU. Now i mounted this on the wall of my furnace room, so the heat was tooken from my server room and blown into my hallway, heating my house. With the S9 and a small heater for my room at night, I have been able to Shut off my Gas Services and keep the electricity on to save on some really big fees that were more than the gas I was using.
7.jpg
After a short time mining and buying BTC, I seen that Bitmain released a new script miner!
a4.jpg

This L3+ in the calculater at the time was saying around $16k a year in profit. I couldnt resist from getting one of these! And i Spent my bitcoin to get this new miner. I was at just over .75 BTC. I was short in the beginning and just waited it out while BTC was exploding! I finally snagged one at .755 BTC and was thrilled! It then sold out that night or in the morning because when i checked it the next day, it was sold out. I GOT THE JULY batch! But just like before...it was time to begin planning to build either another box like my first...or an entirely new setup...guess what i chose?

From the hints from me saying my first box help? lol. 

I now had an idea to try to make things even better. I was going to build a box that holds them both...but wasnt sure quite how i wanted it done! I actually found some metal fan brackets on Amazon that fit the S9 Perfect..so i could mount them next to each other.!
r16.jpg
Here is my second build!
r18.jpg
Now i couldnt just make these machines move the air on their own.
9.jpg
I found the best fan i could get! It's one of them that dry's a spot...the name of the fan is not coming to mind. But anyways i can update you guys with any questions and opinions you may have...remember I am very new, so any help is greatly appreciated.
Now i have added an 8" silencer on the end of the ducting to make it more quiet in the hallway.
r17.jpg
Here is the second silencer added and some twists to get the ducting down to where the L3+ is going!
r17.jpg
I tried to use that flex ducting to get to the silencer but wasn't comfortable with it.

A little curiosity and a cheap price got me to purchase one of these also...I'm addicted!
a3.jpg
I realize I'm at a point I'm going to need an electrician come out and set something awesome up before i go any further with my server room...its got lots of room for more! One day! hopefully!
r13.jpg
r14.jpg
r15.jpg
r19.jpg

Here is some Infared of my current setup!
c3.jpg
c1.jpg
Here is what has happened to my electric bill since starting!
c5.jpg
I really thank you if you have read this far. I'm new here! Not sure if i have a single follower. But I am a Single Father! I am proud to be a Single Father of my 4 year old boy. His mother fell into some drugs and divorce quickly came...well not quickly. It was a contested divorce that took over 1 year because I was seeking to have Full Custody. A year later I have won Full Custody, with some visitation with his mother, which i think was important also. So any help you can send my way will be greatly appreciated.

I hope you enjoyed reading my Adventure of Vertical Mining! Please follow and Upvote my story! Thank you again.
e1.jpg
TO BE CONTINUED....

Sort:  

With how much your electric bill went up are you still making a nice profit? I am also just learning about crypto mining and have just done it for fun on my gaming rig. Although in the future I think it would be interesting to go all out like this.

I am making great profit! The S9 alone was great. Turning on the Antminer L3+ For the first time yesterday is an extreme boost to my daily income of cryptocurrency!

That's exciting! Keep posting updates I'd enjoy seeing more of your builds in the future.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! Readers might be interested in similar content by the same author:
https://steemit.com/s9/@goplayonline/my-adventure-of-vertical-mining

Congratulations @goplayonline! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @goplayonline! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!