You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ethereum mining rigs setup on Linux for the layman

in #mining7 years ago

@qosh I wish i was good at the programming part as you are. I am lucky to have a friend who is good at that and i can support him on the financing and monitoring side of our project.
We just got another Radeon 580 to add to our third rig but those cards are now over $400 at Best Buy so making the investment not as good unless we wanted to sell complete rigs. I don't want to sell as i love mining but we may look at a redesign due to short supply of cards we need.

Sort:  

@krayzie29 its hard to track down efficient top of the line cards right now at normal price range. All my cards are veterans from the old days - didn't want to retire them. The R9 290X produce decent hashrate but uses a ton of power in comparison to newer cards - forced me to be creative and learn some new trick on tuning fans and some stuff.

BTW - I still envy your solar power rigs - I used the site you send me to calculate the amount of solar my area can generate and surprisingly it's quite a bit!!!! Maybe maybe next year, I'll have solar rigs like you

Yeah, solar can power a lot of things. It really just comes down to how much space you need for the panels. In a place like where i live, we don't need as many panels since we get some of the best sun in the world.
It's a misconception pushed by the fossil fuel industry that solar can't support the electrical needs of the people and is expensive. Yes, storage is an issue but my system supplements my utility thus no need for batteries.

FYI, Germany is the most solarized country in the world(though China is catching up fast if they have not already passed them) and Germany has the same sun resources as Alaska. Also remember that we get enough energy from the sun in one day on this planet to run everything for 7 years. If we could only learn to get 10-25% of that, this planet would have no energy issues and no need for carbon based fuels. I included a solar resource map to give you an idea of what solar energy looks like around the world.

That is AMAZING! I always learn something new about solar from you!! Fossil fuel propaganda was too good. Now we just need the solar technology to be more affordable 😛

To green energy rigs!

Sweet, i am glad i can help add the other side who actually has done it. Yes, imagine mining where you can negate the electricity cost? Solar panels have 25 year warrantees so meant to last. I have had my personal system almost 5 and a half years (the monitoring system is my weblink) and with my electric car, i have no need for carbon fuels. Cryptos and free energy for life, power to the people!

So you are literally printing money from your rigs without the cost of paper ✨

Yeah, my only issue is my Nissan Leaf only has a 105 mile range per charge so whenever i want to leave the city, i need to rent or borrow, but honestly, not a huge issue at all.

By the way, the cost of solar is going to be cheaper then coal this year. Another piece of propaganda from the pro-carbon folks. I worked in the industry from 2008-2013 and the priced dropped dramatically.
I personally paid $12,000 for my system, but got a 20 year financing at my local credit union and my monthly payment is $87. It eliminated a $50-60 a month electric bill and they PAY ME $40-$50 on a average per month for the credits i make. I have refrigerated air on my two story house so i'm no hermit :D
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-01-03/for-cheapest-power-on-earth-look-skyward-as-coal-falls-to-solar

$50-60 a month electric bill is before you start mining right? 🤑 so... by getting the system with financing, you actually get paid for having solar?!?!

Yup, i get a 1099 form from the electric company because they pay me more then $600 a year so i report that as INCOME from the electric company :oD

Are you ready to retire on solar yet? (just kidding)

Sorry, i should clarify within a decade will be cheaper but if the subsidies were eliminated for ALL energy in the US, solar is cheaper now.

https://thinkprogress.org/renewable-cheaper-than-coal-589e43113faf