Should Conflux Move To Ethash?

in #mining2 years ago

I have read the CIP and in this post i'm giving my personal opinion bc I have been mining Conflux since February 2021.
I fully understand this questioning bc it can be very tempting to switch Octopus algo to EtHash. 👍
Advantages:

  • Optimize the hashrate for AMD GPUs because mining under Octopus is not economically viable with these cards.
  • Reduce the power consumption of the rig (bc Octopus consumes slightly more than EtHash).
    Disadvantages:
  • EtHash is not ASIC resistant, it can accelerate the centralization of the hashrate (the decentralization is one of the major marketing points of Conflux Network).
  • The Octopus algo is "the trademark" of the Conflux blockchain, it risks losing its soul.
    The motivation of "Make it easier for Ethereum miners to switch to Conflux." isn't valid (for NVIDIA GPUs miners), it's very easy to switch between ETH mining and CFX mining, whether on HiveOS and even easier on Windows. OC settings are almost identical, just increase a little bit the PL due to power consumption.
    I build rigs with NVIDIA cards for my customers bc I consider these cards "four-by-four" and most are currently mining ETH. I think we should rather communicate on the fact that the Conflux algo is particularly suitable for NVIDIA GPUs to gain in hashrate... and maybe ask to NVIDIA for a grant since they achieved a record balance sheet thanks to mining in 2021 and since ETH mining will stop.... 😂💪
    Questions:
  • Will switching to EtHash reduce TPS?
  • Will this affect the DAG size?
    U'll have understood in my message that I am rather against. 😅 Personally, I mine Conflux bc I consider it to be a different community, same feeling when I mine RVN under KawPoW. IMHO, Conflux risks losing its "sexy" and "unique" sides... I'm most certainly wrong... or not
Sort:  

Congratulations @mozila! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!