You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey, Minnows! Free Promotion to 2500+ FANS, PLUS a Chance to Win Free $SBD and So Much More.

in #minnowsunite6 years ago

By the way I STRONGLY Disagree with the writing in the picture.

Prayer is for talking with God to strengthen your relationship with Him.

There is so much to talk to God about but if you don't talk to him like you would your earthly Father then how can you have a good relationship with him?

Sort:  

Well, Jesus taught us that gratitude is a precursor to getting what we want from God. so it may not be the total reason, but it definitely should weigh more heavily on the American mainstream christian mind than it does currently, IMO.

Oh for sure I agree we need to be thankful, and definitely talk to our heavenly father about how thankful we are. It just shouldn't be the reason why we pray. There should be many other reasons as well.

As Paul talks about being in prayer all the time: "Pray without ceasing"

I would have to say that to be thankful should just be another reason added to a long list. :D

I think you mean it shouldn't be THE reason. Because sometimes, it is the reason for one conversation, I open my mouth and that is all that comes out. HA

Hahahaha okay you got me there.... thanks for the correction. :D

I do the same thing all the time... just need to thank God for some things real quick here. :P

I learned that when we pray, we are speaking to God. When we meditate, we are listening. I don't think there is anything wrong with thanking God for your blessings

Oh no nothing wrong with it at all. It just shouldn't be the only reason we ever pray... Sorry, I don't think I worded my post right there. As Paul said, we should: "Pray without ceasing." To me that means pray about everything.

I personally try to say thanks for EVERYTHING every day. If you want to learn about the power of gratitude, pick up the book The Magic by Rhonda Byrne. I will caution you, if you are a strict Biblical constructionist, some of it may rub you the wrong way. But, ultimately the stuff she teaches is life changing if you apply it. She has her own understanding of scripture, as we all do, but truth is universal.

Indeed truth is universal. Although I am a follower of Christ and a believer in the Bible I have a great open mind and can take most things at their face value and still learn from them even if they don't exactly line up with the way I believe. How you said it was great wording. "Truth is Universal". I love it.

Well, in that case, the book The Magic, no, it's not about anything occult, should be on your reading list. It will change your entire experience in life.

Hmmm, I will see if I can find an online copy for both of them as I read from time to time and don't have anything to read at the moment.