Dare to take a step 🚶🏾

in #minnowsupport7 years ago

received_10210067898635977.jpeg
image source


I'm glad I found out some valuable lessons early enough in my life. I've always thought those who are rich were just lucky to find enough money to start up a business or a company .

But when I grew older I found it wasn't so. If you were born poor, it's your responsibility to either remain poor or become rich.

I remember in 2014 when I got so broke. I couldn't even afford to eat twice a day and I was still in the university then. Things were difficult because I don't really have a sponsor.

I came back home one Monday afternoon after attending lectures with empty stomach and that day I made a major decision in my life.

I said to myself "Sam it's either you continue pleading aunties or uncles to give you or take a daring step".

IMG_20170824_120009.jpg
image source

So I sold my generator, sold my phone, borrowed some money from a friend called uboko and bought a projector to start "projector rental service".

By then in uyo, akwa ibom state, Nigeria, there were only two people renting projector. Myself and one other company.

I did my best to send my advertisement across several platforms I could reach for free.

Screenshot_2017-08-24-11-03-36.png

After making some reasonable gain, business became really difficult because many competitors came up.

Seeing that business was slowing down, I sold my projectors( I was able to buy another one). I sold one to a fellowship on campus called CFI (CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP INTERNATIONAL) and sold the other one to Christ embassy obiwali in Port Harcourt,Nigeria.

Several months later things became difficult again. I got broke again because the new business I started wasn't yielding much interest.

I had several options (new businesses a businesses a student can do) to move into until one day I watched a video titled **SUCCESS MOTIVATION "" by Pastor Chris Oyakhilome.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=SP0a_QH8gcA


In that video, Pastor Chris explained how you can't become successful without meeting a human need.

The video was so timely because it was motivational and it was a meeting for university students.

By then the people around my area (a street called idak akpo) used to pay walk 30 minutes to go cut their hair. I quickly knew that was a human need I needed to meet.


After much thought I called some of my course mates and told them to borrow me whatever they had, that I was going to give them 30% of their money every month for 5 months and on the 6th month I'll give them 100% of their capital.

It took me awhile to convince them but I got the money at the end and started a barber shop at a street called idak akpo in akwa ibom state.

The barber shop ran for more than a year and I shut it down because of heart break. Yes you read it right. I fell In love and she broke my heart. What a stupid move.

This resulted to Another season of brokenness . This time it was stronger.

Then came time for another daring step to be made because I wasn't ready to move into anything illegal.

I gathered all I had left, sold my phone and I moved into cryptocurrency investment. This time I was wiser

To cut the long story short, I was able to learn cryptocurrency Trading and made some investments. I paid my fees till my final year and was able to get a piece of land in Port.

moral lesson

Your success or failure lies in your hand.
No one was born to be poor.

Take a step of faith, if you fail you'll gain experience.

if you win ,you just discovered a way that works.

    I fell several times but I didn't give up,So if you fall (fail) , don't give just get up, clean yourself and continue. 

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.null

Such a sad story
Truly no one was born to be poor except if you want to.
That's why every hustler has a pay date.
Thank god for your life bro

Yes oh, every hustle must pay

What did you study at university?

Thank you reading @pjcswart I studied Computer science

Why did you choose that?

So sad you had to go through all this, thank God you made it to this height.

Yea thanks. How are you doing you've not fixed your profile picture

This is motivating, i salute your unrelenting attitude. Bro, you will go far and achieve unimaginable things with this positive mindset. Thanks for motivating us

Thank you sir, the positive mindset just keeps me going

@samstickkz got you a $1.68 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@samstickkz got you a $1.68 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

This post has received a 1.03 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @samstickkz.

That's a lesson everyone has to learn. Great to hear you made a wise decision. :D

Thanks @dontview for reading. Yea a wise decision needed to be made