This could lead to the downfall of Steemit.

in #minnowsupportproject7 years ago (edited)


image source
Upon closely examining the Steemit community, I can’t help but be perplexed at the attitude of some minnows in the community. Steemit is now exactly like the physical world, people are willing to kiss butts for tiny crumbs falling from the “big guys” tables . They are always upvoting, resteeming these “big guys” works. Some even promote the works of others, all in the hopes of getting recognition and help from these big guys. This is quite annoying due to the fact that more than half of these minnows don’t even get the help they lobby for. Like I said in my last post, “The Steemit Perception”, https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@illuminatus/the-steemit-perception this does not imply that the “big guys” are not trying to be helpful. However, how do they help hundreds of people who are all hoping for help? Upvoting such a huge number of people will put a strain on their voting power.
There are several times when you see a post that have catchy topics, you view the content of the post and you find an amazing write up, which motivates you to upvote such works and upon doing that, you find out that the number of upvotes is far below the number of views . This would have been quite understandable if the work was an inferior work. However, you find the same thing being done to several intelligent articles, while you see some works of inferior quality having several upvotes, comments and raking in a huge amount because they were posted by a “big guy”. Steemit is a place for genuine, quality content but now, some people are making it seem otherwise. You find amazing articles not getting the recognition and support they ought to have and you begin to wonder what is really happening.
If these minnows were also helping their fellow minnows, there wouldn’t have been a problem as everyone would slowly but surely become “big guys” but instead, most minnows search for every “big guy” they can find and follow them, upvote and resteem their works, while neglecting their fellow minnows, all in the hope of getting recognition and help. This is wrong on so many levels.
In the world of today, we all keep complaining about favouritism, how people can’t get jobs without knowing someone in the high places. I’m very much grateful to the organisers of Steemit as they have provided us with the platform to make a change. They have done their best and now, it is up to us to make a change in the scheme of things. You might say that Steemit is not exactly catering to everyone around the globe but remember that Tiny droplets of water will eventually form a mighty ocean and you have to be the change you want to see in the world. We complain about the politics of the world but we still give grounds for the politics to survive. There is something I want us all to know and that is the fact that no single person is stronger than a mob. If you want to see a change, you have to work on it.
Go out there and make a difference, help your fellow minnows evolve and together, even the sky is not the limit.

Sort:  

I haven't been here long enough to even know who the big guys are and though maybe I should care, I really don't. I have an outlet to post my thoughts and art on and that is all I care about, and so what if I am only ever rewarded a few pennies or dollars at first, I am new and will slowly gain more followers and even if I never make more than a few pennies or dollars ever that is more than other social media gives and I am not censored on what I post here.

Excellent post brother, thank you for the information, I would like you to give me your support as I am new to Steemit and my only goal here is to make known to the whole world the situation that is living in my country, Watch my blog as much as you can, God bless you.

Loading...

I frequently post in #minnowsupport and #whalepower since discovering the tags, also #minnowsupportproject is a good tag to follow for supporting each-others posts.

One BIG tip I have for all minnows is to do what I do. A few times a day go through the top 30 or so of "new" and "whalepower" and look for topics that interest you. Upvote 5 of them! You will still have 5 of your votes for other things.

Another tip is comment, thoughtfully, on any post you find interesting. Many "Dolphins" and "Whales" do look at minnows posts for thoughtful comments, they follow and upvote those who make them.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Illuminatus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post received a 1.7% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @illuminatus! For more information, click here!

The title is clickbait, I would say- but then I wasn't here over a year ago, when a lot of people said Steemit was wide-open frontier space, like 4chan- so you'd get the utterly amazing gem scattered through the piles of steaming horseshit. It's obviously come a long way in less than 18 months.
If we work very hard and sincerely, Steemit might become the massively wonderful we dream of- but if it doesn't, can you tell me what's been lost?

I reckon that the amazing potential of Steemit has become apparent - that's why we are here, after all. I am interpreting your question as to what might be lost if Steemit doesn't live up to that potential, but if I err in doing so, please do set me straight.

As with any young life cut short, or political movement corrupted, that future potential lost is lamentable. If you've ever reached for a steadying hand to keep from falling, and missed, I think you can fully appreciate that metaphor for what might be lost should Steemit not reach it's full potential.

I was speaking in terms of the positive transformation that can occur in us, the participants in the community- in my case, I've already had (and myself self-applied) some rude shocks to my normal level of cynicism about prospects for my personal, and the US's collective, health and well-being because I'm involved in Steemit. I've written far more in the past month than normal, my proof-reading skill is coming back to a large degree, and I THINK my writing quality's better.
TL:DR- future losses are indeterminate, current gains aren't, and can be measurable.

Oh, and I've actually sat down to record some things recently- I don't EVER do that normally, I'll wait to go to a friend's studio, or for a call to comp for someone on one of their projects.
OK, the vehicles aren't fixing themselves on a timely basis, but THEY don't ever give me an upvote...

nice blog , i follow you , please see my blog and if you liked please follow and upvote

Welcome to the popularity contest, if you are not investor or investing in steem power then you would continue to make a dollar per post

I'd have no problem AT ALL if every post was worth a dollar...
It's impossible to make progress at .06 per, though (or 0 if we don't upvote ourselves), and that's what many of us are stuck with no matter how much effort we pour into our posts if we're just not "the cool kids", embracing the popular, whether it's platitudes about cryptocurrency or smoking weed.
I somehow don't think my write-up on the elegance of k-space on dealing with conceptual problems of electron and muon interaction in bulk solids is going to gather too many whales.
I WAS genuinely thrilled that I did attract Bonnie ( @legionsound ) to listen to an Arvo Part composition on @steemradio-classical, but that was at least as much personal favortism as anything awesome I'd done in posting it (and I'm not knocking her support at all, because I genuinely admire HER mucic)- her single upvote is worth more than 10 of mine, but more importantly, she now has another thread in her musical fabric.

Make the investment, make the investment, that's all I have been doing, I have never cash out, I always have a little giveaway and I invest in steem power. I have never had a post that has made 100USD and it really does not bother me. I just keep at it, continue to make good content and have fun well doing it. I realize very early if you focus on payout you would end up mentally f.... and even when someone comments and their comment worth more than my post, i enjoy it because am starting to attract the kind of people I would like upvoting my post. Soon I would get the point where I would enjoy my payment for now, I am just happy I found steemit and I am getting something out of this social media buzz. I have twitter, facebook, instragram, etc, i ain't get shit from them, I rather invest my time and money here...

Dammit! I am quite interested in physics. Can you link that post so I don't have to scour your blog?

Gotta write the thing up first, there's a TON of solid state/condensed matter physics to correlate with that fateful class 35 years ago, a considerably psychedelic experience at the time, when that ephemeral concept of density of states suddenly jumped out of the page and pimp-slapped me with those hard geometrical shapes...

GOOOD write up! nice one! here comes my upvote!.....

I find that what I put into something is about equal to what I get back out, anywhere...

I do lots of things because they enrich my life, not just for the money! Good comments, good posts, good art etc. do get rewarded. So if you are putting out good content you'll get good results, but not perhaps overnight!

So give it your best shot! Surprise us, amaze us, wake us up, make us laugh, make us cry, or just make us go "oh wow"!

Yep. As a minnow, it's hard to figure out what you need to do to become a whale, but sucking arse isn't one of those things. BTW, purely as your name is the same as my favourite book ever (by RAW of course) you are so followed....in a totally non sycophantic way of course.

Meh, it'll fade once they don't get the traction they initial seek.

Then, they'll actually have to contribute to the community in some way to actually reap rewards - good posts, good curation, good comments, etc.

Just found this & totally agree.
P.S. There's no resteem button any more. :(
Followed.