The Skinny On Models

in #modeling7 years ago

FB_IMG_1498882715142.jpg

FB_IMG_1496874464939.jpg

Many look at models as if they are the standard for beauty and having it all; they're tall and thin, perfect skin, confident, get paid lots of money and have a glamorous job. What's better than that, right?
I was a model for many years. I was considered a relatively successful model. However, I still had to have a day job to pay the bills. I started doing makeup artistry to supplement my lack in funds as well as work retail. This is the real life for most models. It is a cut-throat industry that is extremely difficult to make a living at, especially long term; those models are VERY few and far between.

Common misconception about models:
They make a lot of money
They're dumb
They all have eating disorders
They're stuck up

  1. Most models have day jobs like everyone else. They may land a good gig that pays well, but it might be the only one. In fact, many modeling "jobs" are not paid. They are done in exchange for photos, exposure and experience; this is often how models start out.

  2. Sure, I've met several models that aren't the sharpest tools in the shed. But, I have met many intelligent models as well. As for me, I have a well above average I.Q. (but I don't want to be braggy, not my style).

  3. There is absolutely high pressure to stay thin in the modeling industry to the point it is unhealthy, however, there are a lot of models that are naturally very slender (myself included). One of my dearest friends, a fashion photographer, calls us "freaks of nature", not to be insulting it's just that tall, skinny people are not the "average" body type. Do I think only tall skinny people should model? No! Even though I am a tall, skinny "freak of nature", I think all shapes and sizes should model, to represent everyone.

  4. Most models are VERY insecure about how they look. I was ridiculed as a child and adolescent for being "too skinny". I was bullied and had very few friends. When people say to me, "I wish I were thin like you" I say or think, "No, you don't, you don't know what I went through." Many models are insecure because they've had people stare at them or tease them for certain appearances. Like for me, I was very skinny (nothing wrong with me, just skinny family genes) and my mom says I was beautiful (I never felt beautiful). Many models got stared at for their beauty or having striking features, but as a child, you don't understand why people stare or gawk at you. Then you become insecure. One way of trying to validate one's self or appearance is by becoming a model. I loved fashion, I loved posing, but a huge driving force was I wanted to prove all those bullies wrong and get validation. And I did.

The modeling industry is honestly one of the last places insecure people should go. Agents and clients are often very blunt and will tell you if "your arms are too flabby", "your bone structure is all wrong" or "you need to tone up and lose 20 pounds". You have to have very thick skin or the industry can do real damage, especially for young women.

If you are someone who wants to be a model, please ask yourself these questions:
Do you want it for validation?
Do you want it to make money?
Do you want it to make yourself feel better?
Do you want it because you think you are prettier than a lot of other girls?
Do you want it because you think it is glamorous?
If you said yes to one or more of these questions, I do not recommend modeling for you. You will be very disappointed.

See my photos above? The first one is from a photo shoot in 2006. When I was modeling, I was not a happy person. The next photo is from my wedding in 2014, it was the happiest day of my life!

If you want to be a model because you want to create art, you love fashion, you have another career lined up and you have confidence you could do it for fun for a while, go for it!

Sort:  

Congratulations @idazzle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!