I Was A Teen Model For Elite NY And Chicago: Why I'd Never Allow My Own Child To Do The Same

in #modeling7 years ago (edited)

29.jpg

44.jpg

33.jpg

7.jpg

31.jpg

I was actively starving myself during the entire time I was a model, from age 15 to 18. I quit modeling at age 18, drove myself Canada then 4 months later checked myself into a mental ward for my eating disorder. I left modeling behind, but carried my eating disorder and body dysmorphia around for years afterwards.

3.jpg

When I was 15 I was a teen model with Elite. My face and body were my personal ATM.
The stuff I experienced was the usual: cocaine at parties, pressure from managers to starve myself, older men hitting on young models, and a crushing anorexia which permeated the entire scene. I fell victim to eating disorders and other unpalatable extremes that no one really talks about. When I lived in Tokyo at age 18, I lived in a closet-sized bedroom, packed in like a sardine with 2 other models. There was very little glamour involved. Money and commodification of young girls' bodies doesn't involve any glamour. Oh and by the way, if your daughter says she wants to model, please talk her out of it. It's largely a scam that might give you a disease, in the form of anorexia or drug addiction. There are better options nowadays. Just say no if you care for your child at all.

Anyway, I still have the photos.....here's my teen self. Notice how there is a strange sadness to all of them.

5.jpg
6.jpg

8.jpg
9.jpg
13.jpg
12.jpg
14.jpg
15.jpg
16.jpg
19.jpg
21.jpg
22.jpg
23.jpg
24.jpg
26.jpg
27.jpg
28.jpg
32.jpg
36.jpg
37.jpg
45.jpg
46.jpg
43.jpg
41.jpg

the flowers on the head trend never caught on.
There you have it.
I wrote extensively about my modeling experiences......maybe I'll copy them over here?

Here's an excerpt from my memory of my very first night in Tokyo when I was 18 years old:

On my first night in Tokyo, I received a call from my agent, Mimi.

She said she was taking me out to eat at a restaurant. When I got to the restaurant I was shocked to find a whole table full of models and businessmen. Mimi hadn’t mentioned that there were going to be men there. I thought I was hired to be a model, not a prostitute. I felt a sick, twisted feeling in my stomach when I arrived at the restaurant.

I was placed next to an Australian businessman named Alan Bond.

He told me he was Mr. Bond, the richest man in Australia and at the time, he was. I found him to be disgustingly pathetic, pompous, unattractive and old. He really loved talking about himself and tried very hard to impress me with tales of his obscene wealth. I was unimpressed. But I was also aware of the power dynamics. Mr. Bond owned me that evening. He had paid Mimi. Just how much, I never knew, but I had signed my life away in that contract. I had to do whatever Mimi said or else she’d send me back home to the States.

After talking with Mr. Bond for fifteen minutes, I could tell he wanted to fuck me. I immediately began plotting how to get away from this man who, in his words, “owned all of Australia.” After scanning the table for other models who were rebellious like me, I motioned to one and she came over to me. I suggested that we go to the dance floor for a bit. I expressed how freaked out I was that we had essentially been set up to be unpaid prostitutes for these bloated Australian tycoons. She was disgusted too, so we filled up on French chocolate tears, fruit and tea, then I told Mimi that we had to leave to meet some friends at a bar. I never found out if any of the models ended up having sex with Mr. Bond but I think one got really friendly with him. It was a disgusting experience.

Welcome to fucking Japan.

If you liked this, read the next chapter: The Modeling Industry Destroyed My Soul Part 2: THE YAKUZA

And just think, I was lucky because I was never raped. But others were not lucky. Remember Carre Otis from the Guess ads? She was raped by her manager in Paris. I made a video that describes my horror. She and I worked for the same agency, and it could have happened to me. I turned down the possibility of working for Elite in Paris.......the rapist-manager is pictured on the left and was married to Linda Evangelista. His name is Gerald Marie, and he walks free.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your story. I have also been in the fashion world and it is a soul destroying industry for men and women. you were lucky, most aren't and don't escape without being drug, alcoholics and being severely depressed.
I will follow you. Please read my story. I never took modelling or advertising as a career so guess I was lucky as knew it was just a bit of fun.
Please follow me and up vote if you feel.
I am following you now
https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@sunildkavuri/blast-from-the-past

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@sunildkavuri/hello-my-steemit-family-from-sunil-introduction

Your story should be seen. Upvoted & Resteemed

thanks. formatting sucks, but it's late.....

formatting was fine! lol stellabella do u have any steller u should get some! while its still only 3 cents!
and we would like to see current images of you ! I wonder what you look like now!

you can find images of me, I'm not going to provide them for you.

I have to admit, that I enjoy manipulating younger women; but given that I'm not a lecherous old man, I would hope it's mutual.

I think the power differential between young models and older managers makes the relationship inherently predatory.

You're not a lecherous old man yet. Give it a few years.

I don't know what you look like now, but you look so beautiful in all the photos. It was horrible of them to try to take advantage of you like that. I'm glad you got out.

Thanks for sharing your story

Very Brave of you to come out with this story. My sister modeled for Ford NYC in the mid 90s when modeling got another infusion and her stories about the exploitation, drugs and treatment is a lot alike. My son talks about being an actor or model. I have told him" Hell No" only because I know what the industry is about. Anyway I enjoy reading you content. Thank you for sharing.

I'm personally involved with child protection in Australia, and I also work in an eating disorder treatment programme. The incident of people with eating disorders who have experienced childhood sexual assault (csa) is alarmingly high.
The statistics of childhood sexual assault in Australia is known to be 1inFive, but in reality is no doubt much higher. Like Japan the society largely doesn't want to hear about it.

I have posted here about my involvement before, particularly running marathons across the country to raise awareness and vital funds for child protection programmes in schools.

I can't run anymore, but I am supporting a friend and survivor towards her goal of running in the same event this year.
I will be shaving my head this month when she hits her target. She is almost there.

I decided to allow my hair to naturally become a statement /quiet protest, for silent suffering. Slowly it has become a dishevelled mess.
I want it to speak for people fighting the silence of assault and eating disorders.
Too often the perfectionistic presentation of anorexia screams behind a wall of control and self punishing rules.
The complete loss of control that is my do will be buzzed by survivors of csa at an event on 28th. Those survivors are victims of my own uncle.
He is a wealthy Australian fat cat who thought he was above the law. With money and the best barristers in the country he nearly got away with it.
This is our story as of last year.
https://steemit.com/life/@girlbeforemirror/why-i-pledged-to-run-almost-300kms-for-a-man-i-had-never-met-who-had-accused-a-man-i-had-loved-all-my-life-of-the-most-heinous
I will post the update soon.
Thank you for having this conversation and using your position on this platform to get these stories out.
Silence about this underbelly of our society only empowers the predators. Your brave words will have an impact.

Great story .

That's how I remember you and your very first articles. You are the #steemitstarlett ! You inspired me to write more personal stories. 🌺❤️ To you and massive respect!

That whole world and lifestyle is crap, I do not get why people are so interested in it.

Thank you for having the courage to share this.

Upvoted and resteemed.

Deeply personal post @stellabelle! I work in the fashion industry now. Mostly freelance, so I'm not as close to the sleazy parts but I see a lot of the eating disorder and image issues, even from very close friends. I think social media and the "Instafamous" phenomenon has made it even worse. Sorry to hear about those awful experiences but it's poignant that your story is told. Upped and resteemed.

Yeah there is a sadness behind most of those images, except the wedding dress one, you seemed to be shining that day.

What a story! I have no words...

that means it was good for you?

The story you told is incredible, an excellent and well written article. On the subject, it's one of the most annoying, the sexual harassment in the fashion world. One thing I do not realize is why do the fashion barons still get away with it, with so many reports and testimonies like yours? Do the authorities simply don't care? Or what? It's disgusting

I LOVE reading your story! the Yakuza Part 2 is even cooler! And how are you gonna monetize it if part 2 isnt here on steemit too!?!
I would LOVE to hear this story like with your vocie narrating it ad we could do some quick sketch animationcells like comic book style to illustrate your meeting at le with june the rock throwing the meeting with Mr Bond who owned all of australia, yoru story seems liek a REALLy cool graohic novel animationwe could make!

Story time with stellabelle! It would be a huge hit! You are already taking off with popylarity here on steemit!

you're nuts like me. I have plans to build a Nikola Tesla sexbot when I become a crypto millionaire. Real men are too much trouble. The future looks bright, my dear. You're young, aren't you?

I can see the sadness you talk about. It just demonstrates that nothing worth having in society can be bought with money.

Wow. So sad that this shit still goes on. And apologies from regular Australian men everywhere. We're not all disgusting corrupt perverts. (You know bond went to jail right?)

Yeah, I read about that. He was a real dick in person. Total shit.

Very tragic & emotional history... Thank you for sharing, you trully have courage by posting it! God bless.
In the world injustice is rampant and evil people don´t get what they deserve... the Word of God (the Bible) told us that this is NOT going to get better but rather it will be worsening until Jesus Christ comes back.
And then EVERYBODY will face God some for good & others for condemnation, and it will happen sooner than later...
Romans 2:12-16, 2Timothy 4:1, Revelation 20:11-15.

Wow, you've lived the nightmare I've heard in the last few years about that model industry. Maybe I'm being positive about it, but I think nowaday's there might be good agents that don't push models like they use to. That's the impression I got when seeing Sara Sampaio, a portuguese model and one of the Victoria Secret's angels.

Una vida dura, lo siento, pero de esos momentos habrás sacado muchas enseñanzas para tu vida actual.
La pena es que tantas chicas corran hacia el abismo pese a que muchas de vosotras advertis lo que es este mundo.
Un abrazo!

Wow, what a story. It made me feel very uneasy. The pictures do have an emptiness and sadness about them. That Bond dude freaked me out, felt like punching him. Thanks for sharing this personal insight into your life. I can imagine one needs therapy after so much shit.

thanks, you are a dear.

@stellabelle Thank you for your story. You have a lot of strength and patience for such things, to escape from the web of "slavery." But this sadness will always remain in your heart. I wish you happiness!

A Mooji present for you


This Exercise Is All the Help You Need

I know a woman (ex-girl-friend 30 years ago) who was scheduled to go to JAPAN under contract. I had lived in Japan when i was 17-19 y.o. (Dad was a Lt. Col Air Force Cross and DFC precipitant).
I knew of these stories from the worldly men who flew with my Father.
I was immediately ALARMED and asked "Who" is contracting you. Where are you staying? I then told the stories no one wishes to tell. (This was her dream. Thus she was perfect prey).
Long story short,... she did not go. The man organizing the product (the women) was under investigation with 3 alphabet identities.
She did not go. What happened? Who knows.
I read this story with melancholy.
RE-STEEMED

Not to lie, his is one of the best true-life story on the entire internet!

it's just my little life.

My youngest sister was a model for a small-time local outfit and quickly became disgusted with the fake personalities, lies, and absurd expectations.

Sounds like a very exploitative industry, I'm glad you got out of it
I'm from Australia and I'd always thought Alan Bond was an A grade douche, but this is something much darker. Thank for sharing your story, I hope it helps promote awareness among the younger generation

I know it takes a lot to share stuff like this and while it's freeing and helpful to others it can be very painful. Freeing ourselves of childhood traumas is worth it in my mind and it's why I have worked through all of mine that I have dug up so far on steemit. I hope that with more people doing stuff like this we can encourage other's to free themselves of the toxic and abusive limitations society puts on people and we can all heal. I know you probably only recall me fucking around and joking on your posts most of the time, but in all sincerity thanks for sharing.

yeah, that's true. Thanks for the honest discussion. I think Steemit is really great in that we can really be ourselves. It is a great platform for authenticity.

Congratulations @stellabelle!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 2 with 114 comments

You are very important insider witness on this “industry”. In hope that kids will see it, I resteem…

IMPRESSIVE Leah...

Very brave of you to share those beautiful photos with ALL of us. Please do copy them over to here on Steemit.

Leah Stephens is Officially on the Blockchain!

oh god. what am i doing?

Lol

I am reading Part 2 and Part 3

Oh, and I wasn't raped, but Carrie Otis, Guess model from the late eighties was. I made a video about discovering this:

This video should prevent others from rape. Looks like these men messed with the wrong woman and one day justice will be served. This kind of BRAVERY should be noted and made aware for everyone when the time is right. Good stuff @stellabelle

thanks for acknowledging my work

ha ha, on Medium.....

I now understand why you are against women becoming models.

https://medium.com/into-the-raw/the-modeling-industry-killed-my-soul-escape-to-canada-7971c16c1396

They will learn a lot from your past experience Leah. Very courageous of you to tell your story. I have to apologize when I first saw your beautiful photos I was shocked to go back and read what had happened. You are a stronger Women now so as saying goes...

"what does not kill will make you stronger"

People have no idea.
I was lucky because I was not raped.
and in Japan, I opted not to do lingerie or swimsuits. So I had relatively few exploitive stuff.

yes it's all true.
Are you British by chance?

No not British. Let's just say I have yellow skin. :p

You are brave girl to share these black truths of the glamorous industry. I will hep younger girls..

many years ago, pain doesn't go so easily away. I know many people might laugh or say it is not a big deal, but emotions leave their indelible mark on our minds. After it was all over, I felt a deep shame about selling myself and I refused to talk about it with anyone except close friends. I destroyed a lot of photos too. I distrusted my parents, especially my own mother for many years because she never understood why i left it all behind.. Truth be told, I never enjoyed any of it. There was no meaning.....

so gr8 of u

What a pretty girl! Happy you did what was best for you.

We all have stories that mold us into who we are today. Some are hurdles to overcome. Some are mountains. Some take a few months while others take a life time. Thank you for sharing and may you be able to help others who may also have unfortunate situations.

Bldy hell I think I would have done the same, you should fane got your agent drunk and set her up with the old pervert. Shocking and very sad, such a beautiful young girl and gorgeous pictures

wow I enjoyed looking at all of your pictures! And you have a dillema on your hands here, your daughter will end up being just as beuatiful if not ore beautful thanyou, and the 1980s are totaly in vogue again, so you better be careful, altough models can have a lot of fun nowadays, I am friends with the model Charlotte Free and I knew her mom from an old lycaeum.org IRC chat wheere i met molokobot and drolley and DENNIS the hacker SINNED or COOLIO the one who hacked the internt and shit down ebay yahoo msn in 2001 etc, and he also was one of the earliest adopters of bitcoin and he had someting like 20,000 BTC an so would have been amillioanire by now if he didnt die of a drug overdose in 2013 after his bitcoins made him rich and he spent alot of them on drugs....he liked drugs...anyway he invited me to that lycaeum chat, i met Stealcian or jeneva and she had a daugter who i talked to back in 2014 and i got to go hangout with her aftr she had been discovered, and she seemedto be having fun, she was liek teh conspriacy theory model , featured on that vigilantecitizen blog! but yeah 80s modeling ust have been CRAZY!

Thank you for posting @stellabelle.

A tragic, haunting story of emptiness and loss and yet in some form or another everyone must come to that moment in time where there is question.......What more is there to life than this....whatever that moment is for each and every one of us.

Mankind is too weak to make it on his own...he either accepts God's strength through His plan for man or he defaults to satan's plan for man. The struggle for your soul is real just as the struggle for your body was real.

God is not willing that any should perish....he provided the Salvation solution through His Son Jesus Christ. The rulership of Adam, the first man, was usurped by satan...thus the need for a Salvation plan which God provided.

Translated from the original Greek New Testament.
For you see...God loved the world so much that He gave His uniquely born Son that anyone who believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved.

Religion is man by man's effort to seek the approbation of God.
Christianity is God seeking a relationship with man through His Son Christ Jesus.

The question is.....
What do you think of Christ? Do you accept or reject Him? That is the question here in time that we all answer.

It is faith alone in Christ alone for salvation...deliverance.

Thank you for opportunity to think on these things. Your story was especially poignant as bleujay has a frame of reference and experience with this sphere of empty superficial life...not on this scale....but truly can empathise with the incredible shock of its stark and empty deliverance of the goods it promised.

satan cannot deliver on his promises but God can and does. The stability and contentment of the life God offers is real, satisfying.....you will never look elsewhere once you take God up on His offer.

Wishing you God's best for your life. Kind Regards, bleujay

considering you've repeatedly referred to yourself in terms something along the lines of "highly unfuckable," you sure were quite a babe back in the day. :-)

interesting, and sad - how "international modeling" seems to have this glamorous connotation to it, yet all the darker ugliness that exists in the industry...

between you and me, I use those terms for self-protection. The internet can be a scary place.

Thank you for sharing your story with us. ((hugs))

WOW! Thanks for sharing so frankly your experience!

I actually recognize a couple of those shoots, I think. Ot maybe it's just the whole 80s thing that looks familiar.