Don't Hope For The Best - Plan For It

in #money6 years ago (edited)

1027683_orig.jpg

We've heard it said, or we say it ourselves: "I'm hoping for the best, but I'm prepared for the worst."

I believe that instead it is better to say "I'm prepared for any outcome."

This does a number of things.

First, it acknowledges that I don't put all my eggs in one basket.

Second, it flattens the playing field, in that I don't see one outcome as bad, or another outcome as good; I just see different outcomes.

Third, it means that with each different possible outcome, I have a plan of attack. Did Bitcoin just crash? good, I should buy some. Did Bitcoin just hit an all time new high? good, I should sell a little. In this case, Bitcoin can only do 1 of three things: go up, go down, or remain stable. For some things in life, there are more dimensions involved, but the concept is the same: cover your bases.

The key is patience though, and good timing - as I mentioned in this post https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@briggsy/timing-is-success.

Sort:  

Now THAT is some serious wisdom. We all owe it to ourselves to keep our fingers off the trigger and think ahead, realizing that every major change is ultimately an opportunity.

You deserve a lot more exposure!

Wow thanks!

Congratulations @briggsy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!