Banks are Blocking Coinbase

in #money7 years ago (edited)

This Morning "A friend of Mine" was trying to buy Ethereum in order to buy some altcoins. When he/she tried to purchase they got an invalid card error. They called their bank (you can probably guess which one by the picture) and Coinbase was on the "Fraud" list. They had to go through 30 mins to buy the Ethereum.

If this isn't a reason why you should invest in crypto-currencies, I don't know what is.

If you liked this post feel free to "Resteem" this post and follow me at "https://steemit.com/@cryptowallet"

Sort:  

I am having the same issue over at Coinbase, I am unable to make the purchase, very frustrating

I understand that Coinbase is working on a problem with credit card authorization. It seems like many are getting CVN errors while attempting to add a card type payment method. I sounds like they will have it resolved soon. Is that the problem you are writing about?

Hello,
I have been attempting to purchase cryptocurrancy from both Coinbase and Gemini over the last two weeks too, and cannot do so. I have used both credit cards and bank wires, with no luck. It is indeed very frustrating.

They'll attack anything they can't otherwise control.

They wanna keep the monopoly of money they will resist till the end...

In the coming wealth transfer it is important that the banks keep as many suckers as they can in the system. Who else would they be able to keep on the losing side of the trade?

Banks would be dead one sunny day or at least they will wake up not as banks in the way we know it.

It's my understanding that there may still be some bugs in the system. I truly hope it's not the banks playing that evil game, but I have my doubts. I have to wonder how Coinbase made it on that list? We live in sad times for sure.. :(

In which country it is the bank involved? I would notice it to Coinbase, if it is a major bank they may consider to sue them.

Looks like this true. See here: http://j.mp/2qhhaKQ

Same here I was blocked from a few different sites. Such bs. Who are they to dictate how I spend my money? Fortunately there's a way around everything, but the headache it causes is uncalled for.

Thanks for the update. So what is the alternative? I'm in England and trying to withdraw to an English bank but it seems you have to have jump through hoops to get it done. I've sent the Coinbase support and e-mail but they say they are swamped as popularity of the site has exploded.

I've mainly used coinbase, but here is what I found via google "http://www.coindesk.com/information/buy-bitcoin-uk/". I've heard good things about "https://gemini.com/" but have never used it

Cool, thanks man I'll check these out :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $32.32 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Florida has banned bitcoin I heard!... Got to watch out for pitfalls and WELLS. This will determine how FAR you GO....😜

I would suggest going to another bank. Go to a credit union, preferably one that is not a federal credit union if available.

Interesting for sure, I have just setup an account with Canadian Bitcoin and am hoping i do not have the same problem when i try to buy some Ethereum

Good to know.....this shouldn't happen. Yes, it's a great reason to invest in crypto-currencies.