First step to E waste recovery.

in #money6 years ago (edited)

The first step to e waste recovery is to know what type's of electronics contain valuable metal. The highest yields come from computer's and cellphone's But many others contain it. Also you have to be careful as some products contain hazardous material aswell. Things like led screens and crt tv's and monitor's should be left to large Corp's with the proper equipment to safely decommison these device's. Many people simply throw their electronic's out to the dump or landfill rather then recycle... This is a big no no... Firstly because it pollutes our earth with hazardous materials and secondly it is a waste of resources, everytime a electronic is buried rather then recycle we lose another piece of gold, or silver or platinum, palladium etc which is a waste. IF everyone recycled 100% of their materials it would have a astronomical effect on our enviroment, aswell as on the price's of these resource's. Another key component to doing this is to make sure you research before starting and find the closest place to you to sell the circuitry after dissassembling.. and what to do with the left over waste. I can 100% recycle a computer where im from,,, circuit board's go to one place where im credited for 80% of the return value of the precious metal's in them... The wiring i strip and cash in at my local scrap dealer. The plastic is recycled via lorrass recycling( you may have a different company, or none depending where you are) and last but not least the metal from the case itself i recycle through my local scrap dealer. Tonight is my first night on steemit after being verified. and this is just a brief tutorial.. In the coming days i will be posting instructional video's showing what tool's you need. what give the best yield and showing you step by step how to tear down computers and cellphone's. And that is just a start. over time i will show you how to fully recycle almost 100% of all consumer electronics on our market to help our enviroment and show you how to profit as you do it, So the first step as the tittle mention's if your reading this, is start gathering broken computer's and cellphone's and in the coming days i will show you EXACTLY what to do with them to start turning over a profit at home while being enviromentally friendly and helping to reduce waste and pollution to our enviroment. I hope you all enjoyed this. im looking forward to posting more and educating people on this great cause.

Sort:  

This is cool. I sometimes repair things like laptops for people and I get left with 'junk' that I wish I knew a better way to dispose of. I've got a whole box of old tech gadgets right now that I've just never had the heart to toss, because I know what they contain and how harmful that is. I've also been nervous to go picking them apart because I know I'm never quite sure exactly what I'm exposing myself to. It would be very helpful to have a guide.

With that said, and since you're new here...I'll link you to this post made by @jakeybrown. It's just a general how-to guide on making posts and navigating Steemit. I found it helpful, maybe you will too.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jakeybrown/an-open-letter-to-my-dad-on-how-to-steemit

Thanks for the thought, i actualy spent over a month browsing the site and reading the faq and such as i waited for for them to accept me, such a slllllllow process getting approved haha

Yeah, they actually approved me in four days. I have no idea why either. Everyone else I've talked to said it took near a lifetime to get in. Glad you finally made it! lol.

you got lucky lol i waited 3 weeks then started picking the admins butt and then finally got accepted a week later

Yeah, I have no idea how I got in so quick. Even my friend who had invited me was like "wtf, they let you in that fast?" Guess I'm a charmer from afar, idk.