Affiliate marketing woes

in #money6 years ago

I discovered Steemit because of affiliate marketing. An email arrived urging me to check out a course on how to make money by social media posting. The course only cost $7, so I bought it; and here I am.

I have bought a few courses, or pieces of software, that enabled me to do some affiliate marketing myself. The results were a bit disappointing so I have not been a consistent or zealous marketer.

Lately, I bought a couple of software packages. The first thing I noticed were the immediate "upsells"; hard-hitting sales pitches persuading me to spend more money to get a better product. At least 5 attempted upsells seem to be standard these days.

I would expect that the seller would then give me a week or so to go through the course and start implementing what I had learned.

But no, the next day I started receiving emails on the newest products to hit the "make money" market. At least one email a day, sometimes twice a day; mixed in with reminders to purchase the upsells; or invitations to join a special live webinar, promising to reveal huge money-making secrets.

I feel overwhelmed and confused; the original purchase half forgotten in the wake of these newer gems.

Sort:  

Congratulations @murray64! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @murray64! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!