Is luxury watch a good investment?

in #money6 years ago

enter image description here

As a minimalism, I don't have a luxury watch. I'm still wearing my Seiko chronograph 100m my parents bought it to me when I was 13 years old. Oh wait........I owned this watch for 20 years!? Holy shit! Time flies........I still remember this watch was selling HK$ 880. Recently I check the selling price is around HK$ 1,400......

enter image description here

Advertising time: Yeah, the watchstrap is made by me with Hermes Goat leather~haha!

In case you don't know, I'm a stock investor, a stamp, silver and gold coin collector. I'm trying to hold back myself to buy silver and gold coin because the moment you buy you lose money. What does it mean? It means both silver and gold coin, the selling price is higher than the silver and gold price because of the cost and the precious metal retailers they need to take profit. So you own the metal and you need to hold it for years in order to break even or gain a little profit. Same to stamps situation.

So I was trapped in the thinking, should I switch my attention to buy a Rolex watch as an investment? Is it a good investment? It seems meaningless that I bought it and hide it in the cupboard and wait for the price raise. If I wear it, I gonna be extremely careful to handle it. But still the moment you buy, it is already claim as a second hand watch.

I talked to my friend Daisy, she is a Rolex collector, she said : "Rolex never on sale. They will increase the selling price for 10% annually. So you will never regret to own a Rolex."

But one thing I'm curious, you never know how many watches produced by Rolex. Unlike silver or gold coins you can check the mintage.

Obviously, Rolex is a good brand, the watch is stunning. But it is hard for me to dig out HK$ 50,000 to get one. Please tell me your thoughts about it?

One more thing, if you like my work please Resteem, Upvote, Follow @victorshek and Comment!

Some of my works before please feel free to take a look:

The science is in: Exercise isn’t the best way to lose weight

Etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/lchaim2life
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/lchaimleathercraft
Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/lchaimleathercraft

If you wanna buy me a cup of coffee you can tip me through: BTC / ETC / ETN:

BTC:1HHAYy1e3a6kUzHGgHFiDsg566copkVApM

ETC:0xd73802a7862550d1f57d1bfd8099a505b4bf2062

ETN:

etnkGQ3pMFdi6BktUFwv1iNQXSBa2GhgJWytwjRkKKSEccuCSMJi1fib3pCBN5nrxXiRbiDoyxyhuXtC5Jy2HJ2X8L4DmKbiwg

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.