Off Pottery Square ~ Bhaktapur, Nepal

in #monochromes6 years ago (edited)

DSC_2168b.jpg

Found this lane off Pottery Square, in Bhaktapur, Nepal
They were drying and stockpiling hay to fire up the ovens
See that huge pile on the left in the background?
This is another one of my favourite shots from Nepal...
I couldn't decide whether I should use the colour version or
this black and white
Somehow stark black and white enhances the scene and makes
a stronger image
And of course, high contrast images are my favourites too!


Captured with SONY ST23i | © image & text original content | click image for fullscreen view



My other posts on Pottery Square:-
- Little old woman of Pottery Square
- Pottery Square of Bhaktapur ~ Part 1 and Part 2



Crazy about black and whites? Find out about the #monochromes tag here
This is a post for #monochromes by @brumest




~ more of my learnings & experiments ~


I'm with QURATOR... Are you?


Vote for Qurator as a Steemit Witness

via steemit.com
or steemconnect

Picture2.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography

You have earned 6.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.22
Server time: 22:43:06
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2077.36/3200.00
Total Photos: 181
Total comments: 273
Total contest wins: 15
And have also received a 1.15 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.23
Server time: 00:54:52
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2083.51/3200.00
Total Photos: 182
Total comments: 273
Total contest wins: 15
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I agree with the black and white edit gives more contrast. It highlights everything without the distraction that colors bring sometimes.

I like how you lazy photographer in your description of yourself. Your photos are awesome lazy as you are and I wonder how more impressive it can be if you are not lazy :D

Hahaha... I like that! I must try "hard working photographer" next... ;)
Thank you for your observation, I do think the same... Not sure if this fits the bill, but some pictures I feel come out stronger in black and white! I must apologise for the delay in replying you...

What a beautifully rendered high contrast image! The sharp texture of the hay leads the eye to secondary subjects in the distant background. In the foreground, the - old worn-smooth? - paving has a few surprises of it's own too ;-)

So many scenes so little time right? Say only the perceptive people - most of us walk right pass these scenes without noticing they're there.

Thank you very much, @trumanity! I am so sorry I am only coming to this reply now, I have been guilty of neglecting my replies lately... Love your observation and translation! And I do love high contrasts... :)

Somehow my senses are on over-time when travelling, all the better to absorb the surroundings and take in the mood of the place... especially in case we don't return... :)

Bhakta = devotee; pur = town;
There you have it.
It is a temple town anyways right. One of my fav places in the world.

Oh I saw you 9 and 10 months old links too ! They are splendid :)

Awww... thank you very much! I missed these replies somehow...
Yup, all their towns and ancient cities have their respective temples and shrines, and Durbar squares; each and every one rich in culture and craftwork. All the buildings are heavily detailed, and are great for exploring and photographs! Am glad you enjoyed my older posts too... :)

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Super Photo

Thank you :)

Nice picture taken in monochrome!

Thank you, @nickychu... Sorry for the late reply! :P

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

@greentomorrow did not give you an upvote and has made this exact same comment hundreds of times.

Click the flag to downvote this @greentomorrow comment!

greentomorrow.png

Here are a few ways to support @duplibot and help reduce spam and superfluous comments.