Moral Question About Cigarettes

in #morality7 years ago

image

Hello everyone,

I have a moral question about something that really happened to me today.

My friend is a chain smoker. She is also too poor to provide for her family as a single parent. She asked me to go get her some cigarettes today, because she can't drive for some reason or other. I feel I can't get her cigarettes, because I care about her health. I also think she needs the money for other things.

What was I supposed to do?

I realise that she will probably go through bad withdrawal for the day, and then tomorrow she'll just find another way to get it. I feel bad for not helping her relax. I also realise that she won't quit just because I didn't get her cigarettes once.

Should I have been a pal and just have gotten it? It is her life after all.

Honor your father and mother, and, You shall love your neighbor as yourself."
Matthew 19:19 ESV
http://bible.com/59/mat.19.19.ESV

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @splosion. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @splosion to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Sadly you cannot be responsible for the choices another makes not can you insert your judgment, no matter how sound it might be, into her situation. She needs to go through what she does. We cannot keep people from suffering the consequences that they are meant to endure. We all are on a path here to learn. Denying an alcoholic that drink might be the one that keeps him/her from getting sober. Giving one money prevents them from learning the lessons that come from having no money. Preventing a bad medical report might hinder someone taking the initiative to get healthy.

We are all one but have to forge our own path.

I agree that we should all have freedom to choose, but how would you apply it practically to this situation? Did you mean I probably did the right thing by not buying her cigarettes?

I think you did the right thing. If she wants to engage in self destructive behavior that is her choice. However, it is up to her to fund it. You are under no obligation to abet her in this financially. Part of having a habit is supporting it. She chose to try to lure you in....

I see. Thanks for the reply!