Motivation or Inspiration- and which really works, long-term.

in #motivation6 years ago

MOTIVATION is an EXTERNAL, TEMPORARY high that PUSHES you forward.
INSPIRATION is an INTERNAL SUSTAINABLE glow which PULLS you forward.
The question is which one is most effective for long-term behaviour change. As controversial as this article might be to some I have repeatedly tested it. Your comments are welcome - I am student of life even at my age, and always ready to listen and learn.
After more than 20 years on the public speaking circuit, I am yet to meet anyone who has made significant long-term changes in their life emanating from a motivational speaking event. From my own experience of being exposed to many motivational speakers, I have found that there is often a hidden agenda. Why do I say that? Because often there are products, services or courses for sale, but, and this is what puts a damper on what might have been a valuable experience, these things are only revealed at the end of the presentation. To add insult to injury, products, services and courses especially when you live in South Africa, quoted in dollars.
I know many folks including myself, who have over-extended their budgets just to participate in these purchases. If you want to hype up your staff or you yourself enjoy rah! rah! sessions, then go for it. Personally, I think it is a waste of time and money. Most folks attend these functions or events desperate to change something in their lives. Many of these same folks do not have a budget, outside of credit that is, to afford the door fee let alone what is on offer. As a result, they are sucked into the vortex of excitement, rah! rah! and promises of a new dawn for their lives or their businesses or both. Of course, it is their choice, but I feel not without a degree of manipulation.
So why this topic? Because real change happens inside, driven and directed by you. No person can or should try to make you change. Long-term behaviour change takes place when you take ownership of what needs to change. Clearly you need to accept that there are things you want to change. You need to know that it isn’t going to be easy to undo old counter-productive behaviour. Habits die hard BUT given the right tools at an affordable investment can make all the difference to an enjoyable journey of change. Buyer’s remorse cannot help on that journey, on the contrary, it is likely to contribute towards a loss of focus, energy and enthusiasm. Making a decision that requires you to over extend your budget is always an emotional one - made in that rah! rah! moment of short-term hype and little to show for it down the road.
INSPIRATIONAL experiences on the other hand, as far as I am concerned are far more sincere and genuine and leave people uplifted, touched and inspired to take control. They feel that ‘burn’ from inside. The speaker has a responsibility to help the audience make a connection between the heart (emotion) and the neocortex (logic). The decision they make must be a totally voluntary “I WANT to” decision. An inspirational speaker doesn’t make you feel obliged to indulge in purchases you cannot afford. I consider myself an inspirational speaker. My objective with every talk I have ever given has always been and will continue to be, empower my audience to connect mind and heart with a desire to believe that they can change. At the same time, I equip them with the tools to effectively make long-term behaviour change. Tools that help deal with managing time and priorities, coping with the pain of change, sacrifice, forgiveness, perseverance, courage and very importantly ownership.
Look out for my next article on making a paradigm shift which is a fundamental concept for long term behaviour change.
Allan-power-stance.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks Al. That was quite straight forward. Am going to enjoy this journey and especially the interaction with other users (steemers)

Thoroughly enjoyed your article. Change is hard and very short lived if just done in a motivated state. Here's to us all becoming inspired to change! Thank you for the knowledge, I eagerly await your next article!

Thank you @luckylie for your comments. on your point of change being hard and short lived you might find this quote quite insightful....when the pain of not changing exceeds the pain of change, people change. You see change has to come from inside for it to happen.

great article, thanks. I tend towards enjoying chaos but I will read again to get myself going a little better

Thanks @fred703 - you are funny, how do you enjoy chaos? There is a fine line between motivation and inspiration but sufficient for me to clearly differentiate myself as an inspirational speaker.

Most great athletes are inspired rathar than motivated, if I look at it according to your definition.

Great read

This is true @jvanman - thank you for the reminder - Check my post on Ben Johnson and Carl Lewis re your athlete example.