How not to stop worrying

in #motivation5 years ago


My gosh! There is so many things wrong with this video that I had to share it and post my rant about it. Don't get me wrong here, It is good not to worry but honestly this method seems a bit too extreme.

Big Idea 1: what's the worst that could happen?

Everyone is an individual and everyone is in their own space and time. For instance meet collage student A, She is a medical student worrying about getting an A because she knows that if she gets a B then someone in her care will die eventually.

Meet collage student B, He is a civil engineer , He worries about getting an A because one small miss calculation could lead to a building falling on millions of people.

Meet collage student C, He doesn't care about getting an A or even care for being in collage at all. what he cares about is how is his parents surviving if they are paying for his fees to be in collage. He worries about what his parents are eating, he worries about how much time does he have left with his parents before they pass on. His parents want him to be someone so they are sacrificing everything for him to be where he is. how can he not worry? He cannot drop out and disappoint his parents nor can he continue and disappoint himself.

In this video, example one does not make sense because everyone is an individual and you should worry about what is important to you at that time. Everyones reality is different and everyone has obstacles that they have the unique ability to get over.

Big Idea 2: The absurdity of it all

This part of the video tells you to compare your life with someone less fortunate. Being grateful for what you have is a great way to experience positive feedback into your daily life. sending positive vibes will give you positive vibes. Do not compare your life to others! you are the centre of your universe! you are the only person that matters in your life because it is your life! being grateful does not automatically stop you from worrying, it just ease your mind into being more calm. Listen if your house is on fire you have to worry about it, being grateful that you're alive just makes you bit more calmer than you would of been. If you were in the fire you have to worry, you can't just say at least I am alive. I know this is a drastic analogy but it is a way to get my point across. being worried is not a bad thing, it is part of nature. You cannot get rid of being worried when it is a survival mechanism which is amplified under stress.

Here is where I disagree with my own words, if you are the centre of your won universe then how would that change collage student C approach to his situation? If you are a parent would your life matter more or less than the life of your child? And here is where I counter argue with myself by saying that the previous paragraph is meant to explain that you should not compare yourself to others but that doesn't mean you should not care for others. selfishness and selflessness is also parts of human behaviour which is triggered the same way as fight or flight.

Big Idea 3: Staying busy

Being busy does not magically get rid of your problems. finding a solution to your problem will help you solve your problem. Not matter what the problem is, there is always a solution. we always have a choice. It is up to us to think about our problem calmly and to find a solution that fixes the problem. Everyone has a unique solution to their problem because every individual is unique.

Conclusion

The views expressed in this post are my own and might not make people happy to read. I do apologise if I offend any of you guys. Life is made of negatives and positives, Ying and yang. That video showed up on my youtube page and I thought to myself that this is a sign that I should watch this video to solve all my problems. As I said that everyone is an individual and everyone has a different situation that they have to deal with. Some decisions are harder to make than others. As I sit here thinking of my own worries I think of this saying I heard on facebook this one time, " Do you have a problem? if yes, Can you fix it? If yes , then why worry?. if you don't have a problem then why worry? If you do have a problem and you cannot fix it then why worry?"

No matter how stuck you are in life, There is always a solution to get you out of your jam. You may not of thought of it yet because your mind is burdened by worry but as humans we have superior intellect and with that intellect we can get out of any situation that causes us discomfort.

Please leave me feedback weather it be positive or negative. I want to hear your views and ideas on this broad topic of human behaviour.

Sort:  

Bookmark

This Is yet Another Good one from @bankiezn!!

Most often I do worry about worry a lot lol!! But I have come to the conclusion that worry can't bring a solution, but sap your energy for not.Thus it is better to stay still , sorting for solution or placing the issue in its right perspective until it smoulders out.

well said, thank you for your comment

Congratulations @bankiezn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!