Goals Report | Personal Growth & Quality Network

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

One of my life principles, which I highly value, is growth.

While I'm told that I can always choose my friends, it's usually not as simple unless I go cold overnight on them and call the friendship off.

As today's Steemit Bootcamp for Trainers took off successfully like the many other boot camps before this, I came to a realization that I've connected with more meaningful and growth-centric people through events like this.


 

Then it got me thinking. The way for me to find more meaningful connections and like-minded people, who want the same thing as I do, at the very same event that I attended.

So if you're wondering why this even matters, it does. Because the group you hang out with, depicts your identity and shapes the person you are. Your peers is responsible, indirectly for your growth.

When growing up, your peers unavoidably helped mold your personality towards your strengths.

Your peers spend more time with you, perhaps even more than your family and you're able to test your intrinsic abilities and personality— you being you— with them.

Were you really curious as a person? Have interesting ideas? If your friends don't see the value in education, it's kind of hard to stick around with them if you truly value education.

Or the fact that you hate spending time at malls during the weekend and would rather attend a boot camp for self-discovery and network opportunity, for instance.


 

However, you can break free from this cursed cycle.

You don't need to feel stuck with someone you don't want to be with. Like every relationship, there are break up moments.

You simply need to break up if it's not worth patching up the broken vase already. The vase is your friendship.

Sure you can keep some good people as your 'hi-bye' friends, but ask yourself if you're willing to spend 3 hours for a catch-up, empty talk session.

Having a different group of friends for the various purpose is great. At the end of the day, it's your time and decision on how you'd like to spend your time currency on.


 

Scanning through my goals checklist, I've always wanted to expand my network and contribute to the community in any way.

I just never thought it would be through Steemit because I never knew about this platform before.

This goal was set in 2017 as part of me, going through a phase of life-changing experiences (i.e. friends, jobs, etc.), wanting more out of my life.

You know, the mid-life crisis thing — except that I was nowhere near the hallmark of that age, still in my 20s.


 

Eventually, I noticed that the more I give back to the community (in one way or the other), the more I scored great friendships and in turn, achieve the goals of growing exponentially myself.

As I gained new friends, I learned to treasure those who were really there for me during my tough times.

And for those whom I'd lost due to jealousy, toxicity and stagnated life, they only reinforced my principles and help me navigate better in life, see better in terms of the quality of my network, my wants, and aspirations.

After all, it's the quality friends you need to become the person you want to be.

 

As Jim Rohn puts it,

“You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.”

 


 

So choose your clan wisely.

 

Image credit: All public domain images are taken from Pexels, unless stated otherwise.
 
 

These days I mostly write on Steemit.
I still have my portfolio and personal sites— virtuallydebbie.com and debbieang.com.
But these sites will eventually redirect you to my Steemit blog.
Well, what can I say. If it’s good stuff, you can’t get enough of it :)
Follow me and I'll take you through my unpredictable journey— filled with wilderness, curiosity, and randomness.

PS: Join #steemitbloggers to unite with other bloggers and #sfg #steemgigs to partake in the freelancers' clan. Also, check out @kristyglas amazing divider below. Support her work by sharing as she puts in tremendous effort into creating pretty dividers for Steemians.

Sort:  

Hey @deborism , i found this post on steemitbloggers

I have read through and every statement are true.

from my life experience i has to break up with my childhood friend since we were not sharing the same passion. Its dissatisfying hanging out with friends which are not like interest with you.

Your words mean a lot to me @vic-essien. Thanks for relating your experience with me...

Well said @deborism. Growth is deliberate and for it to be achieved, one need to hangout with friends of like mind and know when to break free from friends that are no longer adding value to our lives.

Easier said than done huh @kween001 ... god knows how many bridges I've burned ;( ... on a brighter side, cheers to new friendships and frontiers !

We go through different stages in life, and it definitely worth spending time and value with the right group of friends.

You're so right. good to know that you resonate with this post @jacktan

This i must say is just too lovely and awesome you point alot on what friendship entails.

Myself over the years have pitch my tenth to my online friends as they have contributed massively to my life compared to the friends i see daily who in one way or the other envies your success @deborism

Glad to hear that you have broken free from the vicious cycle @tfame3865 :)

Well said @deborism. Ever since I left full time employment, my circle of friends has dramatically changed. As one moves up the ladder of growth, the circle of friends will change along with the environment which will eventually shape and determine the course of our lives

It's life's sad reality. Sometimes, I feel bad 'cause some friendships are pretty long, which made it harder to 'let go' but I figured that I've been hanging on it for long until it turned toxic. Glad to have met friends like you too! I guess as long as you're moving in the same direction with a mindset towards growth ... then rest assured, we should be good ;)

Glad to meet growth driven individuals like you and @maverickfoo. There are plenty of opportunity for growth