You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Becoming a Vegetarian and About The Benefits and Impact on The World

in #motivation6 years ago

well, vegan diet is not very balanced. Some vitamins, iron and calcium is hard to get from vegetables. Of course everything is possible, but it is a very strict diet and not everyone can follow it. Many vegans eat pastas, potatoes, and bread - and they have vitamin deficiency that leads to some health issues. Vegans should always check their blood levels. So, I can't recommend something like that - I can't be responsible in case someone gets very motivated by the post and decides to eat only vegetables and doesn't do enough research about vegan diet :)

Sort:  

Yeah, you need a lot of research and information to do it well. It's quite easy, there are many vegetables that give calcium for instance. My calcium was high, and as any other diet, blood tests are important. Example supplements are easy to get (at least where I live). None of the vegans I know have a vitamin deficiency and they all get their blood checked regularly, but they eat more than just pastas and potatoes :p

Supplements don't always work . Fresh veggies are always better, but not everyone can eat a lot of them to get good amount of vitamins. It is great that you and your friends have no vitamin deficiency, but not everyone is the same :)
There is also another issue that many vegans or vegetarians have - higher blood sugar level.

and as I said, I do think that being vegan is better than meat eater , but I just can't take this responsibility - to actually recommend it. Everyone should choose what they think is the best. I only want to create awareness about the benefits of being vegetarian.