What would your greatest regret be in you knew today was your last.

in #motivation6 years ago

Most of us are afraid of the inevitable. The mere mention of it scares us so when often avoid the subject totally. As stated by Jim Rohn, "In the end, we experience either the pain of regret or the pain of success". What would you do differently if you knew today was your last? Most of us live everyday trying to fulfill other people's dreams which isn't bad but what about our dreams,who is fighting for it for us? It is said that those who have no definite goals have the tendency to leave their lives anyhow. Is that what we want? To be crackheads or screw-ups?

Image Source
Don't be pissed by this blog. Everyday we live, could be our last. Whether we agree or not, it doesn't change this fact. I used to believe we will all have enough time to do as we wish as we grow but that was just a wishful thinking of a young boy. I hope you leave your life to the fullest and have minimal regrets in the end.

My greatest regret if i were to die today would be my inability to know and understand God fully.

Now, tell me what yours would be.

Sort:  

Great post! That's a very interesting topic since it affects every single one of us and it's important to at least think about this situation once. I enjoy the way I live a lot and in my opinion I've reached a lot of my goals already, but the question we're always asking us is 'Is it enough?'
Make sure you're happy with the decisions you make, of course not all of them will turn out great, but that's how we learn from our mistakes. Make sure the people you're surrounded by are happy, but don't forget to take care of yourself too :)

Exactly. It will never be enough but if those we love are happy as we are, then it is a great win.

Very correct.
We all need to live our lives on daily basis with a strong sense of purpose, and being radically pragmatic.

Thanks for sharing @kwakumax.
Kind regards.

I have always regretted spending time to care so much of what people think of me. Sometimes it leads to pleasing others.. I am so glad to be me now..thanks @kwakumax

that there is the greatest gift you could ever give yourself @mcsamm

This post grab my attention, and i was like thinking of the regret i've been through in my daily life regret is not about if its your last day but its the regret of the things you werent done or did while you have the opportunity to choose the things that makes you happy and contented, now my greatest regret is that i was working on the job that i dont like, i mean its far from what i graduated, im a civil engineer but i was in an admin position, my workmates are great but the job is not, everyday im infront of many papers endorsement and all, far from what i expected. All I want is to practice, working the job of what engineers do. before its too late I was hoping that I can find a job with designing, and drafting :) xoxo

The greatest thing about this is, there is still time to rectify that.

Yes, if you don't have goals or plans for your life, life will just take you anywhere. It's good to have some plans, including a back up plan in case what you have originally planned did not work out at all. This also serves as a reminder that we cannot control how things will play out in the end, so we shouldn't beat ourselves up when life take us to a different direction.

Lovely and interesting point of view

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Wow ... amazing ... explanations as well as very useful information. Hopefully more successful friends

Posted using Partiko Android

Opportunities never taken will surely be my greatest regret.

Then start taking some head-on

My scarcity comes out of low lenght of day xD

We will never be able to understand God, fully because his secrets belong to him alone. And when we think we have him all figure it out, but only to end up puzzled all over again. No one can compare to him, no one can claim the works of his Holy Hands.

A powerful eye opener i would say - great article!!most of us are living our lives doing things we dont like/enjoy doing, be it doing a job which we dont like or something else. Interestingly these things we do take up almost 50% of our life time - out of the balance, close to 43% of the time gets utilised in sleeping, eating, bathing and other daily chores. We thus only have 7% of our life to enjoy and do stuffs we like.
On the other hand, if instead of the jobs which we are doing right now (which we dont like), if we start doing what we want to, our lives would become more meaningful - i believe most people understand that but somewhere we lack the courage to just let go and do what we want.steve jobs last day life quote.jpg

hinduism-281675_960_720.jpg

If I knew today was it...I'd ask Krishna to send one of his enlightened souls who now just visits the corporeal plane to help people just like me and keep me company until it is time. Then a hug before I cross over.
What I would miss more than anything...is never having found that she...for me. Just one woman...who would miss me when I am gone. She would be at work grinning and someone would see the look on her face and just have to ask her what she is thinking of...cause they had to know...she would break out into a great big smile you know...with the brilliance of a winter sun

sunset-2180346__340.jpg
and say "Oh...just someone I used to know.".
Just one woman, Kwakumax. Just one. And just once...to know what it is like to have someone like me...like I like them. No tears. Not fame. Not fortune. Not a gaggle of loyal friends. Not great health. No superpowers. Just that experience dude. Just once. And please dude....no platitudes...if you can help yourself. Cheers.

sunset-686556_960_720.jpg