The Day the Rainbows Came

in #motivation7 years ago

IMG_0074.JPG

It happened on a morning that promised to be another long, harduous day. The deadlines I was facing that week were enough to make me feel cramped and tight in the chest. It was only 6:30 am and already the mugginess was suffocating. Just what I needed to lighten things up a bit, I thought.

I don't do good in the heat. I needed some air. I opened a few windows facing the shady part of the house. My attention was immediately drawn to a faint noise the light rain made hitting the leaves of the trees alongside our driveway.

I remembered leaving the windows of my car open overnight. Quickly I rushed out to roll them up. Running back towards the house, something nudged me to look up. There it was, a double rainbow arching over the lake, the sun bouncing off the tree line on the opposite shore.

Just like that, my world stopped. I forgot about the heat, about the deadlines, about yesterday and how miserable I was when I got home the night before. Mesmerized, I stood there in the rain, feeling the warm drops gently falling on my face, smelling the earth exuding its aromas from the steaming grounds.

In that moment, I was reminded that no matter what happens in my world, no matter how overwhelmed and inadequate I might feel in any given moment, there are miracles occurring all around. That even in moments of high stresses, when I wonder if my days matter, Life has a way to tell me WHY it is all worth it!

As I continued to marvel at the matching colors of the rainbows, I heard in the background of my thoughts a quote from Yogananda's Autobiography of a Yogi. “The weakling who has refused the conflict, acquiring nothing, has had nothing to renounce. He alone who has striven and won can enrich the world by bestowing the fruits of his victorious experience. ”

I was the one who was striving, facing the conflicts of my daily life, endeavoring to be greater than the reasons why I should be miserable. This double arc was bridging the rain to the sunny shore. Its presence was telling me there could be no rainbows without the rain.

In that moment, I wondered what kind of rainbow would come out of my struggles. In that moment, no matter what they were, I knew they were all worth it!

Sort:  

What a photo. What an article. I could see you running to close the windows of your car. And could feel your thouth and emotions in front of a hard day to come. Reading your article, I wondered how many of us would have been immobilised by the "grandeur" of the moment symbolised by that rainbow. It shoes me the sensible person you are.
Thanks to show that part of you.

Yes we had a lovely rainbow late yesterday afternoon and on the other side almost snow falling, tiny drops so light and floaty, lovely.

Congratulations @museofthelake! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

That was nice to read!

Thank you so much, Olivia! Let's keep on connecting! Happy writing! 😉