Awake or Asleep

in #motivation6 years ago

Years ago I had a teacher. He taught at my church but what baffled me and the other students was that while every teacher talked about the bible and Gospel this man was always talking about success. He taught us about success and ways we could achieve success giving us numerous example of people who were successful in all walks if life. I was 14 at the time and while a lot of student and even teachers detested the man at that time I took a great liking to him and would always look forward to his class the next Sunday. Soon I began going to his house after church on Sunday to collect books. It was from this man and his books that I first heard and read about stuffs like discipline, determination, perseverance, dedication (I mean I still remember when he said he was going to teach us about success the following week and I was so excited that I thought about it all week long - how the lecture was going to be).
His class were very exciting. He taught us with so much energy and content that I thought I was going to start something or create something the next day. I never did.

Years later I met a former student of that man also though I did not know at first that he passed through my tutor also. At first (maybe even till today) I did not really like him; I thought he was too forward. Needless to say he also taught me though indirectly - through conversations. After conversations with this guy I began to realise after some time that the knowledge I had gained earlier begin to take form and consolidate in my mind. I no longer saw all that I had learnt earlier as fragments of knowledge but pieces of puzzle that became whole. I engaged in more thinking than I have ever done in my life during this stage.I saw businesses taking form in my mind and more importantly I was able to look at the world and at myself more critically. This guy 20 at that time had about #2 000 000 in his account. I did not believe it until he showed me evidence on his phone. It busted my mind throughout the whole day and for about a month. I was 18 at that time and vowed to have about that amount and at that age I.e 20 but when I was 20 I was as broke as anyone could be. I was always dreaming and fantasizing but never did anything.

Mario Andretti was the one who said that "If you wait all that happens is that you get older" and personally I think this is very true as if we want to do something with our life we must stay awake and work. Nobodyvever made nothing happen by doing nothing. You can't stay at home all day without doing any productive task or work half heartedly and expect to do something or achieve something worthwile.
So I want to ask you Just one question : Are you asleep or awake