The Life Changing Magic of Following the Pareto Principle

in #motivation7 years ago

Hey, what sup gangster, I hope you’ve had a good month so far.

What I’m about to tell you in this short-ish post is going to give you that good juice from now till the end of the month. This juice is going to make your productivity quadruple and you’ll thank me by sharing this post and telling all your friends how awesome of a writer I am.

donald-glover.gif

What I have to tell you is: My room is messy as f***

I assume most people have some type of seasonal cleaning they do, apart from their general tidying up of the house. Members of my household and I don’t do any of that often. I only clean when stuff gets too out of hand, like the other day I literally found a rotten banana peel on the floor; it was at that point a feeling of shame and frustration went off in my head that said, “Enough is enough, time to tidy up.”

I spent 3 hours jamming out to the likes of Selena Gomez and Lil Uzi Vert while doing a thorough cleaning of my room. And you would think after all that I was tired and just wanted to knock out on my newly made bed right? No

I got an additional 2 hours of research done for work, worked out, and did some other productive stuff that I didn’t want to do before I went through the wizardry of changing my room from a fly infestation (not literally) to a King’s palace

Coincidentally, while going through this feeling of power and achievement, I remembered reading a book a few years back titled, “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.” The main point I got from this book was that by cleaning up you make a large positive impact on your life. And by “removing the bad, you make room for the good.” (I hope I didn’t lose you with my yogi ways…) Thinking about that book also got me thinking about the Pareto principle, which states that 80 percent of the results we want, come from 20 percent of the things that we do.

Wow. Powerful stuff right? I thought of this while looking at my closet thinking, “ I have all these clothes here, but I only wear about 10% of the things in here.” So I did what any rational person would do. “Torched 90% of my belongings!” Only joking. I placed a lot of it in the basement with the plan of donating them.

I put the excess clothes aside to donate.

Cleaning up all the unnecessary clutter in my room and having that thought loop really allowed me to become very introspective, for that moment. “How else could I organize my life, by cutting out unnecessary clutter…what is the 20 percent of work that I’m doing that has been bringing about 80 percent of the results?”

Yes, these tips are rather rudimentary, but I have found that I often forget the simplest advice and need reminders, which is okay because It’s all apart of the process.

Like mom always said, “Clean your room!” you just might like what happens after.

Thanks for reading, please share and comment below
| JOIN THE RLG COMMUNITY | | http://www.realifegamer.com/the-life-changing-magic-of-following-the-pareto-principle/

Sort:  

I don't know why but I get a Tai Lopez vibe from you when I read your post lol, I like the article all the way down to the point you said you were rocking out to Lil Uzi vert😑 in order to read any further I had to F12 that and insert Hopsin for my own sake.but you spoke nothing but truth, I have to do some spring cleaning myself!
PS. what size clothes do you wear I'll take them!

Haha! I'm way more a fan of Hopsin than Lil Uzi. He just happened to be on the Youtube playlist. Nothing can match the heat Hopsin drops in Ill Mind of Hopsin 8!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Hey Legend, great read - youve got some good writing skills!

thanks man. I'm trying to improve daily. And comments like these motivate me to no end.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.