Three Things I Love About Today

in #motivation7 years ago

Let me 'splain you something--my weekend was too busy, too short, didn't have enough sleep in it, had one too many kids with fevers, trips to the doctor for an ear infection and I basically felt like a tragedy in a body for the last 48 hours. BUT (there's always a but), I had the most fun. I'm honestly still not sure how except for this gratitude practice I have thanks to Alexis Donkin (@alexisdonkin), one of my very good friends.

feet-2989373_640.jpg

What is a "gratitude practice"?

Basically, when something sucks, I give it gratitude. I sometimes sit on my meditation cushion, which I've found is a good way to signal myself to focus. I think really hard about the thing that sucks while consciously filling my heart with love and choosing to give that love to the bad situation while thanking it for teaching me whatever I am or might be learning.

Yeah, it's not easy. It feels very counterintuitive. But when you deal with depression and anxiety, like me, your thoughts can easily spiral out of control. A gratitude practice is an amazing way to rewire your thinking through reframing negative experience. I can't tell you how many rabbit holes I have climbed out of by doing this.

alice-in-wonderland-1925965_640.jpg

So what about today am I grateful for?

Item One: I have a sick kiddo in front of me right now. She's sipping tea through a straw and watching YouTube videos. Her hair is a hot mess, her face is booger central, and she is surrounded by stuffies. I had to cancel my workout this morning so I could keep her home from school. BUT . . . my body needs a break. I love snuggling. Now I get to spend my day snuggling with my daughter while she's feeling subdued (she's usually high energy and higher irritation). It's kind of wonderful? Plus she's so cute. My heart is brimming.

Item Two: My wrist hurts way more than I want it to, but guess what? I'm out of my wrist brace for the sprain I managed three weeks ago. Not all the time. I still have to wrap my wrist for exercise, and I definitely do not have full mobility, plus, you know, the pain. BUT . . . I am healing. I am being reminded to pay attention to what my body needs, and the pain in my arm keeps attracting our service poodle who is giving me extra kisses and snuggles. Have you figured out yet that I'm a cuddler?

Item Three: It is cold outside. I hate cold weather. BUT. . . cold weather means using my fireplace insert and blower. I did that last night. I could feel the heat coming up the stairs. It really worked, and the fire gave me this feeling like I could restwhich, as you've gathered, I haven't been able to do much of despite my husband letting me sleep in.

There you have it. Three things that aren't obviously great reframed in my heart with gratitude. I'd love to help you reframe some thoughts if you are struggling.

images from pixabay.com

Sort:  

I always find sickness to be a mixed blessing. Of course you don't want people to be sick, but the extra time with people you love is always delightful <3

Yay! You’re back!

I am SO excited to be back.

Noted 😀

It's really in your writing inspires me, to always take the wisdom of all circumstances, even in difficult circumstances even, there are positive things that apply, thank you for reminding me to always be grateful, with gratitude less time to complain, giving opportunities to do things that beneficial and positive @shawnamawna

It's amazing what joy we can find when we choose to look for it, even in pain.

yes, you're right, let's stop blaming and regretting then :) @shawnamawna

🙌🏽🎉😍😊

@shawnamawna I really like it. Upvoted

Thank you so much!

@shawnamawna In my channel you will find some other posts you may like. Please check it out if you could. thank you https://steemit.com/@mariaentela

@shawnamawna isn't gratitude wonderful? I practice this every day of my life because it's so incredibly powerful. I can tell from this post that it's really working for you too! I'm also a hardcore cuddler so I feel you so much there haha

Thanks for sharing this positive post! Would love to hear your thoughts regarding my recent post about seeing the "bad" things in our life as empowering gifts: Will You Open Your Gifts In Strange Wrapping Paper?

Ooh! Heading over to check it out!

I have read your writings. I love your writing. You wrote so beautifully. It's really good to have a lot of similarities with your choice.

Thank you so much!

quite inspiring thanks for inspiring us

Thank you for reading!

Good writings..appreciate that..