What learning to walk tells us about development

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

For every child, learning to stand on his or her feet and walk is one of the great achievements in human development. Every parent is so excited the very first day his or her child makes the first step in life. It brings joy to the heart. I remember the reaction of my mother when she saw my youngest sibling take the very first step towards walking. The excitement on her face had the capability of inducing onlookers.

stock-photo-family-child-childhood-and-parenthood-concept-happy-little-baby-learning-to-walk-with-mother-520158625.jpg

Image source

If you know how to ride a bicycle then I believe you know how difficult it is initially when learning, especially if you learnt it at the early years of adolescence. The number of times you fall off the bicycle and the injuries and scars you have to sustain on your body just trying to maintain your balance in order not to fall off it. The joy you feel deep down within you when you are able to ride it to cover some meters without any help from someone.
StMeb0R.jpg

Image source

the primary reason for success is persistence, and, likewise, the primary reason for failure is lack of persistence, quitting too soon.

Though I don’t have more experience in the world of business, from what I have read in books I think that starting your own business is sometimes not easy. The ups and downs can be discouraging that you feel like giving up is the best available option. However, the problems and failures eventually contribute to making you a successful entrepreneur. I think the best word I should use is lessons and not failures because in business you either win or learn. There is no failure in business but lessons.

The above encounters are similar to most of our life experiences, if not all. The beginning of everything is not easy but with diligence, the sky is the limit.

I have come to the realization that the same applies to one’s stay on this platform. As a newbie the journey is not as smooth as one would wish for but gradually the road will be clear. Even with the pace at which the snail moves, it still gets to its final destination.

My little advice to newbies. Look up to the veterans of this platform and seek advice from them. Join servers on discord and steemit.chat. Read more always. Don’t just read but learn as you read and have the belief that no condition is permanent.

Most of the people I have interacted with always tell me that they also experienced what most of the newbies are going through. Initially, it wasn’t easy for them but their dedication and tenacity is what has seen them through to where they are now.

Some even told me they earned just some few cents for their introductory post. Their subsequent articles were no different. One of the pioneers of steemit in Ghana, @tj4real said he earn just a little over 40 cents. I went to his page to check his earnings for his early days on this platform and I got to know that it wasn’t easy for him.

The story of @kwakumax, another pioneer of steemit in the Ghana community is similar to @tj4real. He earned just $0.01 for his first post. He had similar story for his second and subsequent posts in his early stay here.

In all these, their persistence and desire to contribute their quota to make an impart did not let them quit. I urge all newbies including myself to draw inspirations from these and believe that your strive to make it on this platform will surely see the light of the day.

However, our desire to make it to the top will not materialize without commitment.

The very best proof that something can be achieved is that someone else has already done it.


What is your success story? Please share it in the comment section for us to learn from them. Thank you.


Steemit logo.jpg


Previous posts written by @sircharles

Sort:  

This is a great post @sircharles.
I wouldnt call mine much of a success story but I feel it is worthwhile sharing. When I also joined steemit the returns and complications, altogether made it seem pretty difficult..no, not pretty difficult, it made it very difficult to tag along. There were several moments I contemplated quitting. But once in a blue steemit moon, I got a double figure on my post, and even though it wasn't over the top as juxtaposed to some of my comrades, I still found a reason to push on and take steemit seriously. I like to think of myself as someone who is still learning on steemit so I take whatever comes and try to look for ways to be better at content creation and every other thing necessary to be a success on steemit..I love your post. I urge you to keep going just as you are committed to doing.

Thank you for the complement and also thank you for sharing your experience here.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sircharles from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.