Some rain, some shine, some work on a bike.

in #motorbikes4 years ago

DSC_0030.JPG

Good evening.

Bit of an odd day, it stopped me getting bikes out into the yard with intermittent rain.
One minute sunshine, next rain, so I headed indoors to do a bit of much needed work on the Montesa cota 348.

As this is going to be used by me, and not for resale, I want to keep it low cost on renovation and as real as possible, as in where I can do, fit used parts to be sympathetic with time.
No point adding brand new parts as it will just look fake and a bit odd.

So with this in mind, I recycled a clutch lever that is period correct, just without damage, mine was bent forwards.

DSC_0027.JPG

Having said that, it is much easier to say than do, I used my best Dewalt drill bit at 8mm, and set about opening up the part where the holding bolt goes through, it resisted for 20 minutes, nearly melted my drill bit in-between, but with the cooling down of both parts via a cold stainless steel sink, it was done. (I just sat them on it at intervals)

The next problem was the nipple off the cable, it also was a little big for the fit, so a 9mm drill bit cured that, and a lot quicker than the former part.

The end result is looking, after trimming excess alloy to fit, pretty good.

DSC_0028.JPG

As much as I like and desire mint bikes, sometimes not buying new things, new parts, and recycling old parts is not only good for the wallet, it is for me good for the bigger picture of life itself, endless consumerism is not the way for me.

Here is how she sits now, still waiting for my 2 month old order from Spain.

DSC_0024.JPG

I did refit the back wheel in the old farm house where nobody resides.

DSC_0025.JPG

On a couple of those images you can see how badly bent forward that clutch lever was, but with a little effort, and some time, it is now sorted.

Hope you had a good day too. let me know in the comments below.

Sort:  

Nice work making the other clutch lever fit👍

I think a certain amount of satisfaction would come from making things fit and look good still and from doing things cheaper than what might be possible otherwise. I guess it's like anything we do in life; If we do it well, to the best of our ability, then it becomes more satisfying.

Not the same but...I've recently taken over the care of my front lawn from a gardener. He was cutting corners and it had started to look worse over the years. Besides, it was costing my $40 every three weeks. So, I took over and in only 4 weeks it's improved 100%...It's starting to fill in where his heavy ride-on was killing the grass and the edges are looking better, rather than him shaving them all down so far he doesn't need to actually edge them each time.

It's left me a little satisfied and whilst it's more work for me, the reason he was doing it in the first place, I don't mind. I guess you'd get that same sort of thing when working on your bikes.

That is the whole thing right there, satisfaction, we all need it in life, but it does not have to cost us a fortune to get it. Nice work on the lawn, sounds like you found some of that satisfaction.

Pretty sad that lawn gets my motor revving huh? Lol.

Not at all, getting to one with nature is beneficial to health, two way thing, you both win.

Me and grass have a special relationship...Lol Ok, not really, but I get a good feeling when I look at the front of my house and it looks good...Knowing I made it look that way.

P.s. Check out my post about the posting in initiative...I was hoping you would enter as any of yours contain the three elements required. No pressure though, your choice.

I most certainly will check it out, was just very busy the last two days with preparation to paint and painting, it is very time consuming.

Congratulations @missionx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!