Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'The Roof' (Part #216)

in #motorcycle6 years ago (edited)

'The Roof'

crta.png

The roof of the house catches my attention. Well, maybe it actually makes me stare in awe, reminding of permaculture roofs. I doubt that this roof was intentionally made to look like this but one never knows. The moss and plants, growing on it, might only be a silent witness of the house's age.

Were these planted up there or they just grew on their own? I cannot deny the beauty and wouldn't mind planting some on my own roof. I'd love that actually. It could easily be that people lived like this before and the plants on roofs were providing an additional layer of insulation. I wonder how it works with rainwater drain... Doesn't it clog the pipes?

Ah, It looks like there are no pipes. There is only this long wood looking like a gutter, making sure that water doesn't drip down the walls and create moisture. Sometimes these genuine, simple solutions are the best.

I remember that in permaculture movement, a similar system of planting on the roof is deliberately used to keep the heat in the house. These guys have entire lawns over their heads. Permaculture, unless taken to extremes, is a good system of sustainable living. A brave decision choosing a life by the rules of nature and using only natural or recycled materials. The roof plant colony is huge. A whole ecosystem is living up there.

I knew some people who were making their diesel fuel from old oil collected at various restaurants. One needs to invest in refining equipment, so I'm not sure after how long this system pays off even though gasoline prices in Europe are much higher than in States.

Maybe we live up to the day when the inerted wheels of awareness start turning forward and change the indifference into caring for this beautiful place where we all live. Maybe one day people realize that it would be a good idea to start decorating and cleaning their front yards, their street, city, continent and all those immensely saddening islands of plastic from the North Pacific. That would make all of us worthy of a chance. Got to start small, I guess.

Enjoy your day! :)



©2018 Velimir Kovacic All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I was to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Great photos :D

Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!

Thank You! ⚜

The roof is steep and I think that's what makes is beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

Velimir, sometimes on the straw roofs planted the Natresk plant or the netskin that you have on the photo. This plant, as the name suggests( ne tresk not tremble), protects the house and people from lightning strikes. At the same time this plant is greatly heal Warts (bradavice) I do not know how to say it in English. Tear off a leaf from the plant and squeeze a drop of juice. Do this for days and they will disappear. The best is because they do not smell and have no color

wow had no idea, thx man!

I'm happy if I can help, or I'm writing something new. TNX for help

Welcome to the Episode # 216 'The Roof'

Everyone has his/her own interpretations regarding this Great Scene but I have entirely Different approach to think upon this Great Art work 'The Roof'

The Shade and the front part of the roof is so old and dull which is the depiction of HUMAN BEING while the moss and plants are the symbol of inner Beauty of the broken Human Being.

It shows don't go on the Physical Appearance of anyone rather go for his/her Soul and Nature.

It is very much possible due to sinful life Man becomes wild but remember everyone has a green corner hid inside him. Flowers on the roof is the symbol of Love and Peace.

With the Rain of Prayer these flowers can grow more and more and more....

Thank you so very much for sharing this Great Art @velimir

Stay Blessed, Steem On!

I’ve only been on Steemit for a month or so but I always enjoy your posts because they remind me of my parents. In a good way!!

They are both avid Harley riders and have been my entire life. My dad is about to retire soon, and I hope to see him travel more. He would really be inspired by your posts I think.

Nice vintage-looking pictures!

Beautiful pictures! @velimir and thanks for sharing 😊

hey there :) hows married life treating you? :D

A group of my friends (here in the US) bought a school bus years back and converted it to biodiesel. They converted the inside to include 4 bunk beds,, a bathroom, refrigerator, table, and bench seats that turn into a giant bed.

I took a trip cross country with them once and I'd say we ran about 60% of it off oil from restaurants. They do it pretty much permanently, and I think they said the conversion cost them around $4000, I'd say it was paid off very quickly!

Thanks for the article!

awesome idea, guys! :)

by the form we can say that the roof has not received the proper attention for a long time. It does not look awful or great - it looks like something incomplete. I personally happened to see in life such a phenomenon of Permaculture as moss planted on the roof. It looks rather beautiful and unusual. Has thus two functions (as you also have described) aesthetic and heat preservation.
I also hope that in the minds of people there will be great changes and change the nature around oneself - it will become a worthy and "fashionable" affair.
One way or another, the development of high technology is contributing to this already today.
Have a nice day

If I may ask, are you using the 'free-lensing' technique? I just read about it today. I haven't tried blurring the corners of my photos but it works well with yours. Thanks for sharing.

sometimes ;)

That type of roofing would be very much effective in my country. The temperature as I type is 35 degree celsius. Just another normal day.

In addition to decorative benefits, plantation roofs can provide food, temperature control, hydrological benefits, architectural enhancements, habitats or corridors. Later alsoThe plant has the ability to reduce the overall heat absorption of the building which then reduces energy consumption. In addition to the roof gardens providing resistance to thermal radiation, the roof garden is also beneficial in reducing rain escaping.

Very good photos, between the vegetation and the antiquity of the buildings that you visit are very interesting, a question: what is the flower that appears in the photo?

How Beautiful your picture, i mean every your pictures is cool, very cool.
every time i see a trending topic in the feed, i always see you. you are so cool, every one of your works I admire. here I do not expect much may just want to be just like you, creating each work in accordance with the wishes and interests. @velimir

wow i am so surprised with the technology they have used to keep the heat..very eco friendly..and i have never seen use of this sort of very simple eco friendly technique to trap the heat..amazing :)

Wonderful mechanism of insulation.This is the first time I have heard of a roof with moss growing on it.Excellent writing with beautiful shots
-cheers-

Oh man! I want to travel with you! Thanks for sharing

This roof top looks to be original, very difficulty to have such grass on the roof and it stays in its condition. This has also made nice photos.

you always make us see new places :)
Thank you so much :)
The way you capture pictures is just awesome <3
our life is also like the wheel you showed in your pictures,life should be moved like this wheel with all happiness :)

Oh... wow!!!... this photography very nice, i like this dear....
and also good your travel , best of luck

A style in the accuracy of magnificence in simulating the reality of the pension transferred to us part of it as if we live with you،
And a distinctive expression
Express your level of knowledge
Thank you su much

Very cool article and beautiful pictures
Consistent and smooth words
And a distinctive expression
Express your level of knowledge
Good luck @velimir

It is humidity and presence in a humid place is what shows the growth of those plants, not only in the roof of the house but in all places that reach the sun only slightly

excelent vlog de imagen

Love Reading your blog daily...

UPVOTED and RESTEEMED

IMG_5312.PNG

Those pictures are so nice cant believe those are on roofs, looks like a sea bed.

I really enjoy your style of writing. Also, permaculture seems to be a pretty interesting topic, thanks for introducing me to that topic ;)

wow super super upvoted you,, lovely photo, so nice post
please if you like to fallow me,, my new post, hope you will , thanks for this nice post. i am new here,, need your also guide,, you are kind great , best of luck

The house really looking ancient tho, and cool. The roof reminds me of the one here in Nigeria we have so many here.
Nice one @velimir

Nice, old house :)

Beautiful trip dear ,

Those roof tops look amazing. Looks like they are out of the hobbit movie. I wonder how many years it would take for that to develop. Have a great week my friend

Good photos stories @velimir

this is great really like this like always ...

I love the way you make us see the places through your eyes and through your pictures.

The House was still intact when msh ada inhabitants and corn pun yg already subject to it can we still eat it, because the House had no occupants and cornmeal else likened begin to rot.

posting is very useful. please upvote me friend

Thank you @velimir for the amazing participation

very good exposure and neat, very comfortable reading your article
@velimir

Our gutter got clogged up this past week-end after a heavy rain event and it ended up flooding the Living Room. Gutters are indeed important.

Really nice pics!!!
love your story !

a great writing from a great writer ,,,,, I love to write and I want to like you

I'm happy to follow you

非常给力的地方

I think this house has been around for a long time
It looks very interesting

Roofing has always been beautiful part of structures.
But these expressions are out of this world.
Beautiful is an understatement.
Thank you so much

Wooow i like it

The house has its own beauty while not in just ignore ...
I'm sure the MOSS that grows on its own with the humidity there.
Thanks @velimir

There are 2 pages
Pages