Opinions - What is the spirit of motorcycle travel?

I recently got back from a wet ride in the Western Ghats of Karnataka. We wanted to do a ride in the rains and we decided to head to some of the wettest places in the Western Ghats thru lesser explored backroads. During this trip, I noticed how different riding experience was. Some were slow and relaxed. Others, like me, liked to ride at pace and maintain a nice speed thru the countryside roads and the curves. And there, I was the faster of the two of us. I would end up following him for a while before deciding that I could up my pace a little higher. I would overtake and before long, the bright white headlamps of the other bike became but a blip in the mirror.

I enjoyed riding at pace. The other person enjoyed riding slow and relaxed.

This, and other differences I have noticed over the years of riding solo and with other people, often make me wonder - what's the spirit of motorcycle travel?

IMG_20180831_124221-02.jpeg

I've met people who want to ride like it is all they want to do. The ride is the only thing that matters to them and they enjoy it in a very different way. The do stop at times, for the view or for a break. But it is never the intent. The ride is all that matters.

Others like to stop often, take breaks, chill with the others and take pictures often as they make their way thru the ride. They enjoy more this way.

I am more of the former, but I don't think I fit completely into that category. I enjoy riding at pace and I can do long stretches of about 200-250km in one go if I have to. My bike gives me the ability to do that. On plenty of open highways, I have sat on the saddle for 3-4 hours straight, riding at pace and alternating between listening to music or singing myself.

For some, the ride is all about finding the random of places thru the roads less taken. It is all in the spirit of exploration. Others like destinations and the ride is the means to get there. Some do explore a little, but they are more or less on the beaten path than the road less explored. Either way, everyone loves to ride.

IMG_20190722_140340-01.jpeg

Sometimes, the highway is a comfortable place to be after a couple of days spent in the hills.

For some, it is meeting the myriad type of people from the old lady in the roadside shop to the receptionist cum everything at the only hotel in town. It is about the experiences had with people, the place and the local cuisine. Others like getting to the destination and chilling out with the group. Either way, everyone has a good time.


When I ride, I like a mix of highways and the hilly roads. I like taking the corners quickly and cleanly. I give a lot of margin for error and I err on the side of caution. Still, the riding experience I prefer is of riding at pace. I love the curves because of the fact that I can continue to ride them at a pace where my sweet spot of satisfaction lies. I can cover long distances when the ride demands it. Sometimes, I just like to ride. Other times, I stop a lot for pictures and to stretch my legs. Sometimes, I venture off the main road, but I mostly decide my route beforehand. I prefer new destinations, but love going to some of the old haunts over and over again. Sometimes, I like my solo time with the motorcycle. Other times, I prefer to ride with a small group of people I know. There is no one thing in particular that I enjoy less or more. It is all relative.


All these many different ways of experiencing the spirit of the road and from inside a helmet, riding a man made machine powered by the invention of a previous era, taking it all in together - the road, the landscape and the drone of a motorcycle as the scenery constantly changes - all these things have made me realise something.

Motorcycle travel is different for different people. And because of that, the spirit of travel is different for each person.

But at the end of the ride, it is the same goal - the happiness you get and the memories that you make with your motorcycle and the landscapes it can show you.

This, I believe is the spirit of motorcycle travel.


If you liked this post, please upvote. Let me know your opinions in the comments below.

Read some of my opinion posts via the links below:

All or nothing - Lessons learned from a decade of motorcycling

The real value of a motorcycle

The other side of maximum fear

The ecological price of travelling

Tourist or Traveler?

The price of overwhelming freedom

Fuck it, let's go!

The similarity between motorcycle racers and fighter pilots

Going fast to slow down time

We need to travel to develop empathy

The importance of anchors in our lives

Our toys have not changed. They have only gotten bigger

Of Mortal Dreams and Motorcycles

Of motorcycles and love stories

Of Scuba Diving and Motorcycle Racers - A slow life between fast lanes?


Check out some of my popular posts below:

Introduction Post

Motorcycle Stories - How I got into Motorcycle racing

A high-speed crash and life lessons


Until next time.
Signature.png

batmanbikerlogo.png

Sort:  

I'm a kind of a pace guy that stops once in a while. I've done a lot of 'tank to tank' riding when I'm going somewhere on some sort of a schedule, but mostly I'm a back roads bandit.

There is a style of riding the corners here in the US that is known as 'the pace'. It was made popular by cycle world magazine in the late 60s.

Essentially it is riding smooth. The rules are: No clutch, no brake, no gear changes. Under no circumstances can you touch the center line. Under those rules, attack the corners like they have wronged you. That is what I call the pace, and I've been riding it for a long time. On places like this 666 avatar.JPG

That sounds like a drill in throttle control in the real world! :P

Love the way how you look at motor cycle travelling. You can't get this with the other means as you can't control the speed from ultra fast to leisurely slow.

By the way, I'm part of the @SteemitWorldmap curation team and it would be great to see your post on the map. You can find out more about it on http://steemitworldmap.com. Just click on the 'code' at the bottom of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Hope to see you soon and that you will follow us @steemitworldmap for our daily #TravelDigest!!!

Correct.

Will check the steemitworldmap. Cheers! :)

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #382!

If you give @ocd a follow – you can find other Gems!


With this nomination you will be able to use @ocdb - a non-profit distribution bot for whitelisted Steemians. We usually add everyone nominated at the end of the week. :) Check our website for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.


We also have a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!