KUNG FURY : The Man, The Story, The Movie

in #movie6 years ago



Kung Fury is an over-the-top kung-fu-hacker-nazi-viking-laser-raptor-time-travel-homage-to-all things ’80s-most-epic-movie-of-all-time. That wasn't enough?
Yeah and I forgot, David Hasselhoff appears as computer HOFF 9000, and he sing the main track.
Greatest movie since the dawn of mankind?

PLOTLINE
''During an unfortunate series of events, Kung Fury (a Kung Fu Cowboy Cop) loses nearly his entire precinct to the most dangerous kung fu master criminal of all time; Adolf Hitler, a.k.a Kung Führer. Because of being hit by lightning and being bitten by a cobra, which would have killed any normal human, Kung Fury has become a kung fu master and a threat to Hitler's power. Kung Fury decides to travel back in time, to Nazi Germany, in order to kill Hitler and end the Nazi empire once and for all.'' (tv tropes)

KICKSTARTER CAMPAIGN & SHOOTING


It all began when David Sandberg (writer, director and main actor) posted on Kickstarter the Kung Fury trailer using his pseudonym Laser Unicorns, and within 24 hours he raised somewhere around $200,000.
Sandberg said:
“My plan was to shoot the entire thing and then do all the visual effects myself. I have a background in visual effects. But it turned out that it was way too much work and took too long and I was completely broke. I had to sell my couch and my TV to be able to afford rent and food. I was, like, at the tipping point. I told myself I needed to do something about this.
I had a lot of material, so I was like, okay, I’m going to put together a trailer, release it, and get people pumped. So we worked on the trailer for five to six months. It was just me and another guy at my office. The Kickstarter goal was $200,000, which I thought was ambitious, but it also seemed realistic in terms of what I needed to make the movie.

Within 24 hours of launching, we reached our goal. People started calling. I freaked out. Hollywood was calling. Agents. Managers. It was crazy. I basically didn’t sleep for a week because of the adrenaline rush. The campaign was for 30 days. By the end, we raised $630,000.”  
here is the link to Kickstarter campaign : https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/kungfury/kung-fury


During the summer of 2014, Sandberg assembled the crew from all around the world, because one of the pledges in Kickstarter campaign was  that you could become an extra in the movie, and the most expensive pledge was an actual role.
''We had like 40 people from all over the world come to Umea, where I was living–it’s a very small town in the northern part of Sweden, about as far north as you can go. They stayed in my grandma’s garage. They were extras. Then there was a guy from Texas, Steven Chew, who pledged $10,000 to have a role in the movie. He played Kung Fury’s partner. He was alright (as an actor). The script is very cheesy in its dialogue, it doesn’t require good actors. Some of the people stayed for a day, some for two weeks, some are still there. One guy stayed for three months. He stayed at my mom’s place. They loved it. It was very friendly, like a big family.” said Sandberg.

MUSIC VIDEO


Sandberg thought that the best way to promote the film was to make a music video with 80's icon David Hasselhoff.
He loved the idea and flew to Sweden to shoot the video. The song was called True Survivor and it was written by Jorgen Elofsson.
Hasselhoff said ''When I heard the track, I went ballistic because I knew I could sing it. It comes from the '80s! That's where I have my big hits, it's the music I organically love. It was the days of Queen, Prince, and Michael Jackson's heyday. So we cut it, and then four months later, I was in the studio in Sweden again shooting the video. I'm hooked up to harnesses, taping my face back, putting on some hair so I could try to look like a young Michael Knight. We were just having a great laugh.''
Spoiler alert: Hasselhoff also makes a cameo as the onboard computer for Kung Fury’s Lamborghini: “Didn’t anyone ever tell you not to hassle the HOFF-9000?”


CHARACTERS:

Kung Fury
''He's a cop who doesn't play by the rules, not even the rules of space & time.''


Hackerman
A man who is good at hacking

Kung Führer
In Nazi Germany, Adolf Hitler has become a master martial artist, dubbing himself as the "Kung Führer". As part of his goals to conquer the world, he travels to the future of 1985 in order to bait "The Chosen One" known as "Kung Fury" into a battle with the intent to defeat him and thus wrest the powers of the Chosen One for himself.

Triceracop


Laser raptor


THE MOVIE

Sort:  

It's fun to watch Halo Sir Video, there is plenty of action and entertainment and there is a great information in it, which requires a lot of experience to watch and can learn some nice videos from me upvote....

I agree. This is the best movie ever! 😍😍😍

Hello again,

I actually did not get myself to finish watching this :>)

ovaj spot je evergreen :D neko od nasih je napravio parodiju, al ne mogu da se setim ko. :)