What movies can you watch all the time and never get tired of watching? 🎬

in #movies6 years ago

royal3.jpg

I was casually surfing on the web (is it just me or this saying has expired?) and saw this question. Made me think about which movies I'd pick out of the thousands of movies I've watched. It's actually a really good question. It would also tells more about your personality or your life.

Let me begin:

High Fidelity

What came first? The music or the misery? Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable or was I miserable because I listen to pop music? It's a bit pessimistic or perhaps nihilist perspective. Nonetheless, Rob Gordon and his companion's path to the desert island all time, top 5 songs lists are joy to ears. It's actually a rom-com but a protagonist one, following the foot steps of Woody Allen's Annie Hall and Manhattan.

How many times have I watched it: I've probably watched it atleast 30 times. Never got bored, never will.

The Royal Tenenbaums

Well my Steemit nickname has Tenenbaum in it. Wes Anderson's best film and one of the best movies ever.

How many times have I watched it: More then 20 times.

The Martian

First time I watched it, I was stunned about how one could be so optimistic and funny in the worst situations. I know it was a coping method. But still being all alone in another planet and nobody was aware. Watney couldn't make his way back to Earth without his jokes. And I know it's funny to learning a lesson from a movie but still, it thought me to solve my problems one at a time. Some says, it's a sci-fi Robinson Crusoe story. No, believe it's more than that. Oh, did I forgot to mention The Martian soundtrack is rad?

How many times have I watched it: So far 9 times (yes I'm counting this one)

Lord Of The Rings

Sometimes getting away from the real world and its problems is the best medicine for the sanity. Eventhough I don't really like the Frodo and Sam's scenes, I do love watching Lord of The Rings trilogy. Fantasies are way better and cooler than the reality. Especially a for a person like me trying to catch the glimpse of the illusion of the reality (hyperreality) in everywhere. I could have give you the simplest answer for why I love watching LOTR like "It's AWESOME!" but I'm trying to be honest here.

🍻🍻 And, playing LOTR drinking game while watching it makes it way more fun :) We played it two times and planning to play one more next month :) 🍻🍻

lotrdrinking.jpg

How many times have I watched it: Atleast 10 times (uncut versions)

Oh if you want to know more about the hyperreality and variety of simulations we live in, try reading Jean Baudrillard's "Simulation et Simulacra"

“Whence the possibility of an ideological analysis of Disneyland (L. Marin did it very well in Utopiques, jeux d'espace [Utopias, play of space]): digest of the American way of life, panegyric of American values, idealized transposition of a contradictory reality. Certainly. But this masks something else and this "ideological" blanket functions as a cover for a simulation of the third order: Disneyland exists in order to hide that it is the "real" country, all of "real" America that is Disneyland (a bit like prisons are there to hide that it is the social in its entirety, in its banal omnipresence, that is carceral). Disneyland is presented as imaginary in order to make us believe that the rest is real, whereas all of Los Angeles and the America that surrounds it are no longer real, but belong to the hyperreal order and to the order of simulation. It is no longer a question of a false representation of reality (ideology) but of concealing the fact that the real is no longer real, and thus of saving the reality principle.” - Jean Baudrillard

Which brings us to the next trilogy:

Matrix Trilogy

Are we living in a simulation? Ever wondered about it? First time I watched The Matrix (first one), I was 12 in 1999 and watched it in a theather. I was shocked by the visual effects. Couple years later, say, 5-6 years, I was shocked by the universe of Matrix, CGI wasn't important anymore. It was pure genious, real and possible. Then later on, when I was studying filmmaking in my alma mater, our professor was teaching Jean Baudrillard's Simulation and Simulacra and his other works.

By the way, no, I'm not chasing the white rabbit but to this day, I know that none of this, none of how we live matters to the universe. For example, being a good person is important for the society and person's conscious but that's it. Universe doesn't care about if we treat others good or bad. It matters to us, humans. Universe only needs us to become real for those who lives in it. We could've lived in an entirely different universe if we had a choice. Thinking like this, is basically absurd, I'm aware. But believing the Disneyland like it's the ideal place for us to thrive is way more absurd than the reality.

How many times have I watched it: Probably more than 10, including the Animatrix

Honorable Mention:

Good Will Hunting

I love Robin Williams and I miss him. And Elliott Smith.

How many times have I watched it: Probably 10 times.

So, these are the movies that I can watch every day, all day until the end of time. Sure there are others but these are my top 5 choices. What about you?

What movies can you watch all the time and never get tired of watching?

Leave a comment.

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.24 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @bojacktenenbaum! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

big lebowski, fargo and snatch are the first ones that come to my mind.