Mission Impossible: Fallout - Much better than I expected

in #movies4 years ago

Despite their predictable nature and pretty stock-standard story-lines, I have to admit that the Mission Impossible movies always kind of appealed to me. This was especially true with MI2 where Philip Seymour Hoffman became my favorite villain of all time briefly. Following that, and especially with the addition of Simon Pegg and his dumb comedic interludes that I don't think did the franchise any favors, I lost interest in the MI movies altogether.

The other day, in lieu of anything better to do, I decided to give the latest MI movie a go anyway and I liked it a lot more than I thought i was going to and feel as though they started to return to their semi-dark roots, which is a good thing.


source

The film starts out in the usual fashion, with Ethan Hunt receiving directions in the "if you choose to accept it" type way in some secluded location. He then gathers his team to go after some horribly nefarious characters who are dead set on global destruction (again.)

I suppose the story isn't really important because that isn't what makes these films good; we all know that the Hunt and the MI crew are going to emerge victorious and it is just a question of how.

5b476152f2052938008b468b.jpg
source

What potentially make the MI films entertaining is the tension and the crazy situations that Ethan finds himself in and the brilliant manner in which they film it to make it look so real. Tom does actually do a lot of his own stunts and part of the fun is trying to figure out which ones he did himself and which ones are a body double. Seriously, it is hard to tell and this is true even for the high speed motorcycle chases.

Simon Pegg and presumably the writers kept his dumb comedic interludes at a minimum and Ving Rhames and his ever-increasing-in-size head didn't get involved in much of the action either - which is good in my mind (sorry Ving).

541a9180b3f1b4c074a026e69d6a0d7616a8a747.jpg
source

I did enjoy the addition of CIA agent, August Walker (Henry Cavill) to the crew and his participation in some of the fight scenes was really top drawer. What's funny about his inclusion in the film is that even though he is only 6 foot 1, he makes Tom look short (because Cruise IS short) the few times that they appear side by side. I can't say for certain but I believe that Tom will normally not be in scenes with people much taller than he is unless they use creative camera angles to conceal the fact that he is only 5 foot 8. I think 5 foot 8 is probably really close to average male height anyway, but certainly not the height of a person that a viewer would consider an intimidating action star.

This is why all of the members of his team are chosen this way in all the MI movies, very rarely are they, or any of the baddies, over 6 feet tall: Case in point is Ving Rhames, who despite being wide and muscular, is only 5 foot 11.

0c713f4c3becaa837838163ff9694817.jpg
source

One of the wildest action sequences happens at the very beginning in a situation where the team needs to skydive from a height where oxygen is necessary. This is NOT CGI, and cruise and a film crew jumped from a military airplane 106 times over the course of a year in order to get the footage necessary. I think this might be part of the reason why the budget was nearly $200 million.


From the official Paramount channel

The film nearly pulled in $800 million at the global box office and I think this can pretty much assure that there will be a 7th film. Their return to a less whimsical story and some pretty dark overtones is a welcome on in my mind, because when Pegg (who i still do not like in the cast) was added, I thought that the entire Mission Impossible series of films was on it's way out.

Fallout might be the best one out of all of them in terms of action and is definitely worth watching. I would say that it is one of the best action films of the past couple of years.

My overall rating! 8.5 / 10


tumblr_nvsv177bFA1uitzhdo1_400.jpg

Sort:  

It sounds like fun... Is this one on NetFlix?

988q66qog.gif

yeah man! I'm surprised you didn't notice because it was basically force fed to us on the Home screen for a few days. That .gif is pretty funny. Tom can climb the outside of the tallest building in the world but can't cross the road!

Yeah, that's not very consistent... Have you ever tried Dragon's Dogma? It was my favourite RPG/Adventure game in recent years. The only problem is that the world map is so small and there are few locations. Other than that I found it superb. 🤗

I haven't seen any of these movies besides the first one a long long time ago. I really don't care for Tom that much these days. I did hear that this one was pretty good relative to the other ones. My wife and I are finishing up the second season of Hannah right now and that has been pretty good. A little predictable and the story has been told before, but I like that they made it a series and they can expand upon it some.

Hannah... hm, haven't heard of that one. I'll look into it.

Sorry, it is on Amazon Prime and I spelled it wrong. Hanna.

there are other ways of getting stuff... as i am sure you are aware. A-prime barely functions in SE Asia. So that's a no go.

You know, I have seen a couple of them but I can't remember which ones they are. Maybe because I have seen so many movies and I am not the target market anymore?

I generally don't search them out to watch them but think "Ah why the hell not? I didn't hate the other ones." Then, I enjoy them and immediately forget it except for maybe an exciting scene and good hook.

I LOVE the yip-yip-yip rating system! Brings me back to my childhood and watching.....was it Sesame Street? Love those guys.

Hope you are doing well my friend.

the yip yip aliens are some of my all time favorite Sesame Street skits. You have to be old school to even know who they are because they weren't featured very often! "chicken, chicken, bock bock bock bock bu-kep!... uh-uh, uh-uh, nope nope nope nope nope nope nope nope"

Just finished anaconda.. my all time favourite movie. 100 times I have seen.love that movie. I can watch 100 time more.

What a strange film to have as your favorite of all time. Isn't J-Lo in that?

That movie I can watch with my mind shut.hahaa

Man, if you thought this Tom Cruise flick was good, just wait until you watch The Mummy. Absolutely wet dream inducing movie, you just couldn't possibly beat it.

the Tom Cruise Mummy got ripped to shreds by critics but I actually enjoyed it... probably because they did a fantastic job of making you cheer for the mummy.

Have not seen this one yet... although in honesty, I have not watched a MI movie for many years.... might be a good "skop, skiet en donder" (as we say here in South Africa) to watch with Jude!

!tip

🎁 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

It's my favorite movie

Great movie. Some more recommendations
https://easyhometheater.net