My top favorite mainstream's HORROR MOVIES of 2018 // Part 1...

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

For those who don’t know or haven’t seen my bio, I’m a ¡HUGE! Horror movies fan. I watch almost every horror movie that cross my path, it doesn’t matter if is a piece of garbage or a masterpiece I need to see it, to be absolute sure. That’s why I have decided to give my top favourite horror films of this year, without any particular order, just the ones who for some reason or another I really loved. So here we go:

A quiet place

By this time I guess almost everybody who loves a good horror/thriller movie had seen it, but this masterpiece has me grabbing the edge of my seat for almost all of the film, and the most important it keep everybody IN SILENCE.

The plot of this movie is simple but genius, a family lived in a deserted town because bunch of rare creatures has killed almost the entire world these creatures are blind, but they have an amazing sense of hearing, so this family must be completely silent to survive and only communicate through sign language, from there the movie develops a lot more but I let you guys to see the rest.

Pengabdi Setan (Satan Slave’s)

This Indonesian gem is from last year, but for some reason it only appeared in my Netflix a few months ago, so I’m including it in the list.

I really admire this Asian film, although the film has a theme we have seen before, the way this movie delivers the story, makes it fresh and a little bit scary, which is what we want in a horror movie right? The plot for this film is the next one: after being mysteriously ill for almost 3 years, the mother (a former famous singer) finally dies. The father of the family decides to go to the city to find a job to pay the bills and not lose the house where they live, soon the children’s feel that their mother has returned, but they soon realize to take them with them.

So far the whole thing sounds very cliché right? But once you start seeing the movie and understanding the background history, everything takes a new twist and a nice surprise.

Hereditary

So we closed up the top with this film, which for me is the best horror movie of this 2018 so far
This beauty has everything, suspense, a great script, very good acting and more important A LOT OF SCARY THINGS!

The story begins when Ellen the matriarch of the family dies, the grandchild of the family starts to unveil scary family secrets about their ancestors, living the family to try to get away from the horrors from the past which will hunt them again.

So this is the first part of my favourite horror movies so far, I’ll do a weekly post with these types of movies or if you want another genre let me know in the comments guys.

Do you guys have a favorite horror movie this year?