Sort:  

interesting question, and I'm not sure that Muse specifically will set out to solve it. The way I understand it is the following:

  • the problem that Muse intends to tackle is the one of redistribution, ie: who do you pay and how much, once you have the royalties coming in. Artists uploading a song (or a song identifier) will do so using a distribution scheme associated to it (eg: 50% composer, 20% guitarist, 10% bass, 10% drummer, 10% agent), and the blockchain takes care of splitting a single revenue stream accordingly
  • this does not imply (yet) that the revenue is "legal" or that the artist is who they claim to be

Muse will also have a "sister" project, called PeerTracks (http://peertracks.com, currently redirecting to the main Muse website), that should deal with these problems, also stream content and send revenue through the Muse blockchain and handle artist tokens (eg: vouchers, VIP passes, etc...)

The original project was announced 2 years ago and was a bit different than what is presented now, so I don't know exactly all the details as they are still trickling out. Thanks for the interesting question, though, as this is definitely a problem that the Muse team is going to have to tackle.

It seems like a good idea. - Every time I hear blockchain, I automatically think the project will be awesome.

This will basically be a Rights organization like BMI or ASCAP?

The way I understand it, yes, that's the first stage of the project. I think that the team has bigger plans than that, but I can't talk for them, and there's no official whitepaper yet.

Hoooolyyy fuck. I'm totally about this.

Interesting! Time to check out Muse ;)

voted and resteem witnesses! @wackou , hopefully upload to the first place! I would appreciate your vote in my participation in openmic week 66, thank you very much!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@jetperalta/steemit-open-mic-week-66-got-a-match-chick-corea-cover-and-improvisation-by-jetperalta