Betty Mabry aka Betty Davis! The Funk, Rock & Soul Singer, Once His Muse, Married To Miles Davis 1968-69 & The Nasty Gal [Movie]

in #music-history6 years ago (edited)

Let me introduce you to this outstanding lady and share about her recently found recording session from 1969 with Miles Davis, a story I read in (once again) my favourite newsletter from the awesome "Dangerous Mind". 

When I spotted the subject line, I thought first they are talking about the one and only Bette Davis, 'the ass-kicking woman in her own right'. 

But NO! 

Its about The Funk, Rock and Soul GODDESS 

A BLISTERING 1976 LIVE SET FROM THE QUEEN OF FUNK, BETTY DAVIS

Image Source 

Image Source

This article is about this outstanding and vibrant "Nasty Gal", I have never heard off before. I said to myself , how is it possible that I don't know who my legendary favourite Jazzer Miles Davis, whom I met personally in 1984, as I wrote in some previous articles, was married to? 

 

Image source 

I found a couple of pictures as the prove. 

 Image Source 

In his autobiography, Miles wrote:

“If Betty were singing today she would be something like Madonna, something like Prince only as a woman.” -  Source Autobiography 

The "Nasty" Muse 

Image Source 

"This is about Betty Davis, born Betty Mabry, who married and divorced none other than Miles Davis in 1968/69, during which time she introduced the trumpet master to the music of Hendrix and Sly Stone; in his memoir Miles credited Betty with sparking the direction his music would take in the 1970s." - Source to read more  in dangerous mind article

The muse who changed Miles Davis, and the "heady Brew that rewrote Jazz" as The Guardian wrote.

Listen to The Funk Raw Mommaaa on Spotify! 

After the breakup with Miles she moved to London to pursue modeling career and produced her raw, sex-focused albums, banned from radio play. 

They were popular among jazz/funk record collectors but she was never breaking the underground ceiling. Her three albums achieved cult-classic status and served as a primary influence and forerunner for liberated female acts of the 80s and 90s.   

She gave up in 1979.  

This hot& sweet Mamma is different for sure!

Image Source 

Betty Davis They Say I'm Different Full Album 1974

Betty Davis " Your Man, My Man" 1973

Find many more Images HERE

She released 3 incredible funk albums in the mid 70s's.  

 

Image Source 

"Betty Davis, They say I'm different" and  "Nasty Gal", all three albums have been rescued from unjust obscurity by Light in the Attic Records. In 2009 they also put out  "Is it Love or Desire", a full album Betty Davis recorded in 1976 that had never been released.

Last not least: 

Image Source

Here is the outstanding trailer for the documentary on Betty's life, expected next year.

NASTY GAL on Twitter - The Many Lives of Funk Queen Betty Davis movie from Native Voice Films 

There is only one Funk Queen. The Nasty Gal team love this stunning late 70s photo of Betty Davis by Robert Brenner. Film news coming soon! - Source Twitter and Facebook 

Betty they say i'm Different

http://www.nastygalmovie.com

The world premiere of BETTY - THEY SAY I'M DIFFERENT was in Amsterdam at the prestigious IDFA film festival from 15th to the 22nd November 2017. Written by director Phil Cox, this creative documentary is the result of four years of conversing and spending time with Betty Davis. - Source from this Website

Betty should have been a SUPER STAR! 

PS: 

Previous articles from @mammasitta on Miles Davis 

My Past Life on TOUR and on Stage with **MILES DAVIS & FEMI KUTI** Photo taken in Italy 1984 - Music is my Passion 

MILES DAVIS , FEMI KUTI and JAZZ

It's me @mammasitta with my minnow re-steem profile and shorter content. 

Follow and support @massivevibration if you wish Keep on spreading those MassiVe Vibes! 

Feel free to join my steemit chat channels at "mammasittas, austria, massivevibrations, baliohbali" to post your links. 

Join MAMMASITTA's Steemit Network and twitter as well as Fb account"steemitvibes"

Supporting and curating quality music for @curie 

Follow @qsounds

Sort:  

Strong women and strong music! You can protest in so many ways it's inspiring to see people doing it with such passion! That goes for Betty and for you!

That’s sweet and powerful !!

Danke schoen My Dear! It’s all about MUSIC HISTORY most People don’t know about

Wow, thank you for sharing this! I did not even know who she was until now and that's a crying shame! An unsung shero who deserves to be known by all. Seems she had a major impact on Miles Davis and the music scene, and was very musically gifted. I love her sound. You've placed me on a quest to learn more about her and who she was, her creative contributions to the world. Major gratitude ;-)

I am so glad to hear that I could teach a little music history here also to myself.
I posted on my minnow account to see how many actually will find this article about a smashing and talented Lady! Thanks for your comment. Enjoy some funk:)

Most definitely, keep up the great posts!

Wow, that was a fantastic write up/review of her, and her music. Now I know what set of Betty Davis Eyes that song was about.


Source KimCarnesVEVO

I wonder if the song was about her.

Good question :) I don't know
I think it was about the other one :)
I love this song!!!

I am really happy to see you here and about your compliments but I try to write about music history because many people don't know much about those days:)

I like a lot of different music, when I was young and really influenceable I never let myself get trapped into one type of music, I loved my Mom's old 78's I mean who doesn't love a resounding edition of "Yellow Rose of Texas" or of any Marty Robbins ballads, Or Otis redding sitting on the dock by the bay, or Bread and their music, or Cat Stevens,or David Bowie, Sly and the Family Stone, Jefferson Airplane, Alice Cooper, I mean the list just goes on and on and on, of the music I love and enjoy. To many place to much restriction on their listening pleasure.

How many people would listen to Kiss Destroyer Album, then follow it up Jean Michel Jarre's Oxygene Album. Music is a wonderful thing, I feel so sorry for those that limit themselves to one style, it is like looking at a rainbow and only seeing the color red when they limit themselves.

Thank you

So good to read your feedback!
I agree with you! Never limit yourself!
Just go and find quality music in any genre!

Thank you, listening to the whole album now. The movie looks like it will be good, I liked the trailer. If people could just take a few minutes a day and listen to something they never would have in the past, they would then find there is not enough minutes in the day to satisfy the music craze.

So so true!!
There are not many on @steemit for sure 🌝🌚

Every now and then, generally because something you post reminds me, I do a Musical interlude post on my blog. The last one on Sunday was Morris Day and the Time, "Gigolos Get Lonely Too".

Wow! You mention a lot of great songs and bands from my own youth here.

Wow such a pure artistic life, do perfect so sweet

Music history!

she made it very clear what was the empowerment of women at that time

Oh Hell yeahhhh :) The 70's !!!

Nice one. So much energy and she must a woman with authority voice for singing. I love those pictures and her postures too.

what an amazing and talented singer and sad to know she gave up. I wonder what happened to her and if she is still alive. I am still researching. Thanks for your comment!

Never heard about her, but thats maybe because im too young :D Cool songs though.

she is so hot! I always loved funk from the 70's

I love her!

Wow! She really has some great music. Thanks for sharing this.

She gave up in 1979.

Damn broken heart reading that part. : - ( Thanks for showing me somebody so awesome. I wonder what she did after the music?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 6 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Dear @themarkymark
How long does it take to get an upvote from @buildawhale
I did send 2 SBD a while ago already.
Thanks for your feedback

3 hours, should be the max in most situations.

Merci!! Bit long :) but I am patient

Still no vote . Pls explain

You gave me a 0% vote, please explain

You got a 0.46% vote (that some tools will visually round down to 0%). That 0.46% vote is worth $4.09.

It just showed up now but a few minutes ago I couldn’t see that vote. Thanks. I just try to understand this service

In the last minute it showed up but not earlier

In the last minute it showed up but not earlier

The vote was cast like 14 hours ago...

Very strange because there was no notification on steemify about this vote but anyways ....All good Now. It’s a good vote

You got a 0.50% upvote from @upme requested by: @massivevibration.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This post has received gratitude of 0.52 % from @appreciator thanks to: @mammasitta.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 30 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 11 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!