Epic Drum Battles Of History: Is the drum solo a lost art?

in #music7 years ago

Is the drum solo a lost and dying art?


Alright, I'm bringing this back simply because I personally love it. As a drummer for over 20 years I can appreciate the skills and tenacity of these musicians. I realize there may not be a lot of drummers lurking around Steeemit. But I could be wrong! Just as I enjoy a great guitar solo, though I don't play guitar - I hope you enjoy it too.


Here we have 2 phenomenal drummers going at it plus one of my favorite all time rock solos by Mickey Dee from Motorhead. I was fortunate enough to see Motorhead on their 2000 Tour where Mickey Dee played this solo for a good 5 minutes, he absolutely killed it! Even better... when he was finished he threw his drum sticks out into the crowd. My friend and guitarist in my band at the time caught one and gave it to me. I wish I had it here with me to post a picture of it. It was a white fatty marching drum stick. He clearly wasn't messing around...
Perhaps I'll share my own drum solo story another time.


Ok, onto the battle.


First up: Art Blakely & Ginger Baker.
Blakely was well respected in the jazz community as a formidable drummer with a rare talent at the time.
Baker was known as a rock drummer for The band Cream and was a pioneer of the double bass pedal. He branched out and learned jazz grooves, African drumming and polyrhythms and began challenging jazz drummers, earning their respect throughout the 70's.


This was recorded in 1973


Bonus: Sacrifice + Mickey Dee Solo

Additional Bonus: Buddy Rich Solo



You know what to do: vote, follow, share and all the other things.