Molly Ringwald - Actor to Jazz Singer - Authentic Signed CD Give Away Contest!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Everyone in the U.S. who grew up in the 80s knows Molly Ringwald from movies like Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club and Pretty in Pink. Great actor and a great jazz singer / performer too. She's been on tour on and off recently singing great Jazz Standards from the "Great American Song Book" and of course the Breakfast Club song Don't Forget About Me.

Have seen her perform several times and had a chance to chat with her about music. She asked if I was a musician and we chatted for a bit. Big smiles and she's sweet and sassy just like she was in the Breakfast Club.

Have two of her signed CDs. If you're a fan of Molly Ringwald, you can win one of her signed CDs. For a chance to win, describe which Breakfast Club character is most like yourself and why. The comment with the most likes wins an authentic signed copy of Molly's Except Sometimes CD. Winner will be selected a week from today. In lieu of sufficient comment votes, I will randomly pull a single commenter's name who described which breakfast club character is like their self from a hat on video and post it in the comments to announce the winner. Will ship anywhere and you can provide your shipping address via Email ([email protected]).

MollyRingwald0001.jpg

MollyRingWald0002.jpg

mollysinging.jpg

mollycd001.jpg

molly0003.jpg

Sort:  

Molly Ringwald is definitely someone who brings back memories of two eras for me. Her work in the 1980s influenced so many of us children of the baby boomers. She also played a supporting role of sorts in my early days in New York City. A close friend of mine was one of her best friends. I was fortunate enough to have met her on more than one occasion. Very fascinating woman. Hi, Molly. Send my regards to Thomas next time you see him. JB

There has been a tie between @calebtrask and @steemsausage. I will do a drawing video later tonight to select the winner and will post the video on this thread.

OMG!!!! I would love to own one. I'm an 80's child, and grew up watching John Hughes movies. If I were to pick a character, I think I was Ally Sheedy's character, the basket case. I was really quiet in high school, and had no friends. I was very artistic and drew a lot, but everyone ignored me. Now that I'm an adult, I no longer give a crap. I love my independence, and travel a lot by myself. LOL

Looks like I have no upvote. Sad face.... Oh well. Maybe I'll get lucky, and see her live somewhere.

It's a tie so far :-) Will have to do a drawing. Will come up with something fair and video the selection process on a tie between the two posts with votes right now. Three days remaining.

Awesome. I feel hopeful. lol

Great reply. Thanks for giving it a go. There has been a tie between @calebtrask and @steemsausage. I will do a drawing video later tonight to select the winner and will post the video on this thread.

It's odd watching those movies today. As a teen, I identified with the "rebellious" kids. These days, I look at the movies with a different point of view and even find myself identifying with or at least understanding more of the adults. I think it just shows to the excellence in which the movies were written. I love watching them again even after all these years.

Its truly inspiring & unique....she is brave and strong. Also, he intellect and talent is incredible ...

What a voice! Love this.

If you love this kind of music, you might love my last year birthday present as well. I had a great evening with B.B. and the Blues Shackes

Upvote!

Hello bro your post very nice I like it so please chak my post

wishing you well for 2018 and always x

I liked sinteen candles...

Wow, 16 candles ,the breakfast club and Pretty in Pink, were absolute all time favourite movies of mine. I think that I am most like Molly to tell you the truth, although everyone thinks I am a guy with the sausage name, I am not! I can't believe that she also is a jazz singer! i didn't know that at all. Down here in Australia we don't hear everything. I think I am most like Molly because she is a little bit 'what you see is what you get', and she is sassy and a little firey, but kind of soft too. When i started singing I just fell in love with Jazz, (Ella Fitzgerald, Nina Simone, just to name a couple! I can't believe you got to meet her! She is seriously like my favourite actress from that era. My best friend and i watched those movies so many times... Gee I thought bad boy Judd Nelson was hot, and I kind of had a thing for Andrew Mc Carthy too! Wasnt there an Estivez in there too was it Amelio ? You are making me remember such a fantastic time in my life! You have spun me out twice tonight.. maybe that was all for a good reason! How amazingly beautiful she is too, she hasn't changed a bit.... we differ slightly there. You have given me an education tonight I now know she has a jazz cd, wow! I will have to check it out! Thank you @ambienthex Ps Did you also love Stand by me? It was so good too, and another personal favourite from the era was an Australian film that I have seen too many times to count, is The year my voice broke, with Noah Taylor and Ben Mendelson, check them out if you have a chance! Thanks for the memories! I feel 16 again, and that is priceless! @ambienthex cheers from @steemsausage

Definitely a mix of John Bender and Brian Johnson myself with a dash of Allison Reynolds weirdness. Weird, Anarchist Nerd I guess.

You're the only candidate for a winner so far!

There has been a tie between @calebtrask and @steemsausage. I will do a drawing video later tonight to select the winner and will post the video on this thread.

Hi, friend, I like your posts, the writing is very good and deserve to upvote by many people.no like me who is still amateur in the field of writing so many friends who are not interested with it. success for you comrades, I am glad to know you and hope to continue to follow you. keep on working. greetings

Thanks for participating! There has been a tie between @calebtrask and @steemsausage who each received 2 votes. The other correct entries were by @miketravels (1 vote) and @red721 (1 vote). I will video record a fair drawing process to break the tie between @calebtrask and @steemsausage later tonight. Contest window is now closed. Any new entries or votes past the date of this comment are outside of the contest window.

You are wasted your SBD
You want good result
Send $1 SBD / 1 Steem to @dragonpower - Without Memo
, wait and see results!
3 x per week max!

Stretched thin with work, but will make and post a drawing video on Saturday. Thanks for your patience.