Music Makes Memories....Sam Smith Concert

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Music & Memories

Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 8.07.45 PM.png


So you know when that song from a playlist is on and you feel like a major déjà vu scenario is playing out? I experienced that today. I find it incredibly amazing how your brain can archive an experience brought on by sights, sounds, and even smells. I joke all the time with my husband how I have the superpower of smell because seemingly no one around me picks up on subtle notes of something in our food or a cologne that someone across the room may be wearing. Obviously, this can have draw backs as one can guess. (Please shower, use cologne and deodorant before flying! Please!!! )


Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 7.47.01 PM.png

I am very eclectic when it comes to my mood of music. Today I needed extra motivation so I fell into a singer-songwriter type of mood and I pulled a playlist to suit my taste. Then that moment happened where the first few chords were played and I was in a happy memory, little moments began to feel surreal, "I have been here before, but where?" I got frustrated and realized...the song...oh that's it! "Lay Me Down" by Sam Smith. I played this song like crazy before going to his concert 2 years ago. I ran to my photos and found some pictures of a pre-party we had with some friends who came to visit and go to see Sam. I created this video that sums up that wonderful day.

Here is the song that brought it all back for your listening pleasure.....

Long night...but a great one at that!

What song do you find triggers a happy event in your life?

Sort:  

Music can take us back to some of the best and worst times in life! It is so incredible how much of a connection we can have to music because of its ties to a particular experience and time! I love Sam Smith as well and his music brings about tons of emotions for me.

Nice to meet you and all the best ! Upvoted and followed you!