The Harder They Come - Jimmy Cliff

in #music7 years ago

20171030_192156.jpg

This is album means a lot to me. It brings back memories of times in my life when I was struggling and unsure of the way forward. At times like those I can remember playing this record and it offering me the encouragement I needed to move forward, to not give up and to persevere. Songs like "sitting in limbo", "the harder they come", "you can get it if you really want it" and "many rivers to cross", spoke to me in a personal intimate way. As if the songs were an old wise friend who had empathized with me and reassured me that I had what it took to make it through.

Whether it was trouble in school, at the job or in a relationship this record was there for me and I'm sure it has been just as meaningful to thousand and maybe even million of other people. The bottom line is that Jimmy Cliff made a master piece and I think that many of us are better for it.

Sort:  

Nice post!

Always nice to read a personal review or comment to a record. Some records have a personal meaning to us all. Thats the great thing about music- it speaks to us on different levels.

Great you share one of your 'tracks' with us that stands by you. A shame you didn't link the music itself :(