The Notes in Me

in #music6 years ago (edited)

My Musical Journey


My mom was teaching in church choir when she was pregnant with me. I guess just like how the Kobe cows are able to absorb classical music to give better beef, there was some notes that seeped into my blood.

I started piano at 5 when I was in the United States. There was no exams or grading, just a recital before a balding man that judge you. When I came back to Malaysia, I continued my piano lessons through the Associated Board of the Royal School of Music till Grade 8. In Malaysia, just like any Asian country, your parents expect you to be either a Doctor, a Lawyer or an Engineer. Fortunately for me, my parents are quite supportive of my passion.

My Schooling Days


In primary school, there was no band. I only managed to join a concert band in Tshung Tsin, my secondary school. I started off with the clarinet and then I move on to the percussion.

I am quite proud of my secondary school achievement. I was 18 when I formed a band with my schoolmates and we won the National Jazz Band Competition. It was a big deal to me.

Jazz Band Champion 01.jpg

After my A-levels, I convinced my parents to allow me to study music. I enrolled myself into UCSI. I got a classical degree majoring in piano. That was the place where I met the mother of my two children. We just hit the right key. She is quite often featured in my videos.

Weeknd Performances 01.jpg

During college days, I am exposed to music presentation. I participated in recitals, concerts, productions in and out of campus.

My Job


I always thought that being an educator is a pretty noble thing to do. I have no dreams of owning big cars or to holiday in the Bahamas but I do have dreams of playing in the Royal Albert Hall or to be part of the musical crew of the Broadway or the West End. I took the mantle of being a teacher in music in various kindergartens. I find that I work quite well with kids because I find them entertaining. I had performed in many parts of Asia and it includes countries such as Singapore, Indonesia, Phillippines, Hong Kong and China.

Concerts 02.jpg

Passion Drives


I have no idea that passion is such a strong driving force. I am always upbeat about a new event or a project. I have taken part in P. Ramlee the musical as a rehearsal pianist. I had the opportunity to work with music greats in my country such as Siti Nurhaliza, Atilia and Erwin Gutawa. Although I took composition as my minor, it was more towards classical composition. I haven’t been good at writing pop songs. I have 2 songs in my name and 1 was the song that I composed for my proposal.

“Love is the greatest gift from Heaven,
Love is a give it can’t be earned,
No matter rich or poor, whoever young and old,
We all want to love and to be loved back in return.”

Second Original Composition


My second original is this place I now call home, Kuala Lumpur. It’s called “I’m so Thankful, Grateful for Kuala Lumpur”.

Nowadays with my family expanding, I teach during the day and I perform on the weekends. Since I am now also involved in Steemit, I find more time for flexibility in earning some extra dough, allow my creative juice to flow and to interact with people within my sphere of practice.

Teaching Children.jpg

Growing Our Community


Apart from knowing music my entire life, I have not been exposed to the corporate world and I hear that it is a rat’s race and everyone is out to get everyone. I do music and I work with kids. I have my own utopian belief, I think that everyone can find their tune and there is no better medium to unite than through music. We saw how music transcends race, gender, and religion. We saw how Woodstock influenced America during the 60s when the entire nation was healing. I can’t promise that we will be great but I can promise that I can at least make 1 life better through my music and that alone means the world to me.

I hope that you guys will continue to support #steem-music in whatever ways that you can. You do not have to be a singer, composer or an instrumentalist. Your support carries a lot of weight to us. I want to make a difference.

Banner Steem-Music (1000x400).jpg

Sort:  

Music for the win, bro! Thanks for sharing your musical journey with us :)

thanks for dropping by me podcast! :)

You just got a vote from Sndbox-Alpha! For more information, click here

Way to go..! You are born in it. I tried to move into music back then, although i enjoy listening to music, typically Jazz, i realized i am no talent in playing music. So i leave it to you guys. LOL..

hey man! we all have music in us! you free tomorrow night? we’ll be having our first gig at Liberal Latte. will be great if you could drop by :)

Coffee + gig? Wat kinna music u guys will be playing? what time? See if i ok to drop by :)

we’ll be playing the usual popular tunes. check out this post for more details!

https://steemit.com/steem-music/@perennial/steem-music-the-science-of-being-awesome

There is no person more suitable to put this community together than you my friend...I wish to see this community grow

thanks man. I couldn’t have done it without you and @zhusatriani’s constant support. let’s do this together! 💪🏼

Im pretty amazed by you Caleb!! You jazz ;) #geddit

oh course I get it. you are the ultimate pun master ;)

You got me in the last sentence, “ I want to make a difference”.
You’ve definitely made my life better with your music. :)

aww. let’s continue to spur each other on :)

Congratulations @calebleejl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

what can i saw.. awesome lah! Man i need to hear u play live one day wei

jom! come to one of our gigs and let's make music together :)

LOL.. i got things to focus on now, if i add another plate my focus will be divided.. so i just come to support when i can boleh :D

So glad to read your life story too, @calebleejl :) You are made for this! You are taking the road less traveled and go for it!

aww. that last sentence looks really really familiar. is there by any chance you recently wrote about it? ;) but yes. thanks for the encouragement! my story nothing too amazing but full of God's grace that all :)

Hahaha yes! Maybe I have said it to you before. The road less taken/traveled is my favorite poem. I even posted about it! Haha. God's grace is the best thing in the world. If not, we have all fallen apart.

You guys were the winner for Astro Philips 6 stars isn't it while those day in IS people were talking about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha! old story liao :p

welcome to Steemit! I went to Facebook to check if the display photo matches the one on your Discord. then I realized I didn’t reply your message since 2012! didn’t we proceed to Whatsapp because I saw that we exchanged numbers. you up for that long overdue catch up over coffee? TTDI works for me if you’re still staying there ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ya ,I still stay there same phone number I also recalled our last meet is in kl bah kan.But meanwhile I still at kk,maybe end of next year will only can go back to kl .

Posted using Partiko Android

end of next year is a very long time. buzz me lah if you’re in town ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sure bah,is really quite sometimes already o but you still so obsessed with music o even nai wen also bah.keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

you keeping in touch with Nai Wan? :)

music is the only thingI know. if I even consider myself knowing it ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

You too humble bah,yes he is in music industry is too if I not mistaken as a music teacher if I m not mistaken in kl too.He also sometimes got performance too just not much as you la is lesser.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure bah once I m back to kl or you got come back kk juat kindly give me a buzz.you can also put your gang inside like Ah geng,Alexander,naiwen perhaps😬😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it’ll be during CNY 2019. you around? :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

You mean got come back kk here during 2019 CNY?

Posted using Partiko Android