Dtube Exclusive - My Immortal by Evanescence (Piano Cover)

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Hello Friends!

I don’t like it when people say something is a “Must Watch” because it feels pretty presumptuous…but I will say that if you are someone who generally enjoys my music covers – then I think you will really enjoy this one. I can’t really sing “My Immortal” without feeling a lot of emotion and I hope you can feel that back through the video.

I have been playing and singing this song since I was a teenager! There is something so moving about the melody and lyrics that always seem to really move me. It’s funny, because my sister @maryjaney once asked me why I always played sad songs. I guess the piano just draws that out of me! haha Maybe that’s why I started playing the ukulele… to help balance things out a little.

I really do hope you guys enjoy my piano cover of “My Immortal” by Evanescence! Here are the lyrics:

__

I'm so tired of being here
Suppressed by all my childish fears
And if you have to leave
I wish that you would just leave
'Cause your presence still lingers here
And it won't leave me alone

These wounds won't seem to heal, this pain is just too real
There's just too much that time cannot erase

When you cried, I'd wipe away all of your tears
When you'd scream, I'd fight away all of your fears
And I held your hand through all of these years
But you still have all of me

You used to captivate me by your resonating light
Now, I'm bound by the life you left behind
Your face it haunts my once pleasant dreams
Your voice it chased away all the sanity in me

These wounds won't seem to heal, this pain is just too real
There's just too much that time cannot erase

When you cried, I'd wipe away all of your tears
When you'd scream, I'd fight away all of your fears
And I held your hand through all of these years
But you still have all of me

I've tried so hard to tell myself that you're gone
But though you're still with me, I've been alone all along

When you cried, I'd wipe away all of your tears
When you'd scream, I'd fight away all of your fears
And I held your hand through all of these years
You still have all of me, me, me

__

Thank you so much for listening! By the way… in case you missed it – I am currently running a contest! To celebrate hitting 65 reputation, I am giving away 65 SBD. Check out the contest post HERE.

Xo, Lea


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Damn, Girl... This song was a great match for your voice. The "All of me" note you hit at 1:08 was haunting in every right way. The slower tempo was perfect to give you more control and time to sing with conviction. It was all authentic, cleanly performed, and very believable. It was also dark and resonant, yet delicate and beautiful. I have no idea what I'm talking about, but it seems like this is your natural vocal register. You also nailed the keyboard part the entire time. This may be my favorite cover.

You also got me to tear up at the end with those notes and that emotion. Reminded me of some stuff from my past and went right through me.

As for the person who made some comments below, keep doing what you're doing and improving. It's all a process and you've made interstellar leaps. Sure, there are some things to keep getting better at, but you're consistently learning new songs, lyrics, producing, executing, and engaging all of your commenters. Take the constructive from that comment and ignore the offensive stuff. While vocal advice is great, some people are passive aggressive with buttering up their sly ways to try to take away from your success.

My only constructive criticism would be to water your plant.

Up-voted my comment for visibility. Resteemed.

This is a MUST WATCH! I already know. Watching ..... NOW..... (5 minutes later...).... yep I was right!! Great job @coruscate

I can say that this cover is LIT

Aww thank you!! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! 😊 You are the best!

Great job!
I used to do covers all the time on YT, but have been skeptical with things like performance rights and how that works with the blockchain.. I guess the same could be said about sharing like a popular youtube video as well.. Just always wondered 🤔

Hey @stealthtrader! Honestly, copyright stuff is something I’m really looking into right now. It’s a little tricky because we are in uncharted territory here. On YT, they can place adds on your video to make some profit from the cover, but that isn’t an option on Dtube. I’d really love to find a lawyer that specializes in both copyright laws and blockchain technology to chat with about it all. (If such a lawyer exists 😊).

I’m curious, did you ever run into copyright issues with your YT covers?

I never did really, but I have removed all of them since then.. I did however get flagged for uploading my own video of Above & Beyond from EDC though.. So idk, but I dj now as well, and won't even DJ live on here from my @steemdj page until I figure this out tho 🤔

Great job! This brings me back to my younger years.. Evanescence had some cool songs

I always think and feel that ladies who play with the piano has a certain elegant and beauty. It is really a great attempt and you can consider making more dtube video instead of ukulele but the piano. It really gives a different level of feel to your music presentation!

Aww thank you my friend. The piano is more of my roots in terms of music and your right... I should start including more piano covers.

I’m so glad you enjoyed this cover!

Beautiful. I absolutely love this song. I, too, have always been drawn to sad songs. I just love to hear a voice that can really communicate with feeling. There's a difference between a pretty voice and one that conveys emotion. I wrote so many songs during my teens and early 20s, but they were so dark that my own kids haven't heard them yet.

Now here I am singing booger songs and Wheels on the Bus! Lol! You never know where you'll end up with music!

haha your booger song videos are pretty awesome too! 😉

Sad, dark songs really seem to touch the soul in a deeper way. I’d still love to hear some of your originals one day. Although now that your kids are on here... you might have to skip past the songs from your twenties. 😜

Yeah... I don't know why, but anytime me I tried writing happy songs they came out country and I didn't listen to country back then so I didn't really appreciate that. 🤣🤣 I used to have a Myspace acct for my solo stuff. I'll have to dig around and see if it's still there. Are you on Discord? I could direct message you if I find it!

This is a wonderful recording of this song. The playing and singing carries the message perfectly and I love your voice...it’s so warm, and I particularly enjoy your vibrato style. Im just now hearing you for the first time, Lea! I got accepted into Steemit on Tuesday:) it’s so exciting and encouraging to see musicians like you becoming successful on here. I can’t wait to start posting my content and joining the fun!


lykke li - i follow rivers

would work good for ukele.

Oooh she has such a beautiful voice! Great harmonies in the chorus too. 😊

Beautiful job.

Aww thank you so much @neopatriarch!

This was one of the best songs back then. You've done it justice..
I used to hear a lot of Amy Lee, she has a unique voice

I’m so glad you enjoyed it my friend! I freaking love Amy Lee’s voice. 😊

This one has a lot of energy, and you did put in a lot of hard work, in this, I could feel the lyrics blending in with your voice, you made the song a complete version of your own, this is amazing, the ukulele queen here, my world!
Thumbs up so much.

Aww thank you my friend! I love this song so much and I’m glad you could feel my emotion through the recording. 😊

this song reminds me when I was younger .. lol .. when I passed it in my car with that song at full volume, and also rollin of limp bizkit

Great cover. I can see that you feel it, and most importantly you feel very good about it and emotions in music are the most important! I liked you and start follow. Thanks for the nice moments spent with your cover :)

This song is so poignant, in addition to your performance is better than the original one.
Like sub and I'm waiting for more

Wow, I really appreciate your kind words! Thank you so much for the support. 😊

If I can ask you for upvot support under my video. Surely it will give me a lot because you have high voting power

I love music .Music is my heart ..Thanks dear sharing your music post..

I love your voice _

Thank you so much @rokkas!

Music is life, music is message, music is an informative/ entertaining media to curb boredsome.music is healing it can fix anything!.
Thanks for sharing an entertaining music.
Need more of it from you

Very nice! It's been a while since I've heard a beautiful music.

quite successful

very unique take on the song, love it!

I’m so glad you enjoyed it! ❤️

I haven't heard this song in years and you're rendition was great will be breaking out the old Evanescence albums and give them a listen again, some classic tracks that got me through my teen years

I hear you on that one. She really got me through my teen years as well. ❤️

Today DTube's server maybe down!
i'll try lots of time to visit but server say error :505
i hope server time fixed this problem asap.

^--- You made this exact same comment at least 8 times in the last 2 hours. View these duplicate comments

Upvote this comment to support @duplibot and help reduce spam and superfluous comments.

You have very nice voice :)

Thank you so much!

this one is special!
sweet voice

lovely voice, cheers!

Aww thank you!

You might want to check this out steemians. Its really useful to us
https://steemit.com/steemit/@braveit/fake-it-till-you-make-it-v1-1

Oh "my heart is broken"! by this piece..

Congratulations @coruscate, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Hero account holder (accounts that hold between 10 and 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Hero account holders during this period was 395 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5804.25. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Quite a good performance. A very delicate version.
You have a very vibrating voice - work on it.
Regards ;)

Beautiful version. I always had a soft spot for that song. I've heard a lot of people cover but that honestly was a standout version. Have you ever seen them live?

Would love to hear a beatles song, if you're into them!

... I don't want to 'be' a hater. And believe me I'm not.
I also live with the 'live and let live' idea. But I think everyone could grow. And if music is really what you want to do for the rest of your life (if not just ignore this post). Then I need to say this:

You look like an amazing girl with a lot of guts. I acknowledge you for that, really. I watched other videos of you and I can see you rock! But, your singing is really out of tune. And voices don't have to be perfect and polished. Jeff buckley's voice wasn't polished, he sang out of tune some times but damn what a great musician! Your emotion in the song? I just don't feel it. It just doesn't feel genuine.

I'm a bit suprised all these people support you.
I think You have an interesting voice which can keep on growing with the right practise. If you try to find it's authenticall sound you would sound amazing. I had the same when I was younger, I tried to copy other voices 'caus I liked them. I sounded a bit too clean and nasal. What I mean to say is you're holding back.
I can just feel it. Maybe standing up would help.
Not thinking about the camera all the time too.
You're way to busy pleasing your audience.
You could put that effort in really connecting with your body and your sound. I don't want to hurt you. I really hope this comment can be constructive after a while. (like some tough love). I know you're powerfull on steemit and a lot of people probably like and compliment you so they get likes back.

I know that what I'm doing is very risky now. I don't know if there are is a policy for being honest but sharp... I should probably make an extra account to do stuff like this -.-

I feel the genuine nature of your comment, and so I don’t take offense to your constructive feedback. I have never claimed to be some amazing singer, and I am honestly grateful every time I post a music cover when people seem to enjoy it. Before joining Steemit, I had never posted any music publically…and it honestly really scared me. I took a risk and joined the Steemit Open Mic Competition and I was shocked at how kind people were. It really encouraged me to keep going.

By posting music more regularly here on Steemit… I have actually seen HUGE improvements in both my vocal and musical abilities. This is something I’m honestly really proud of. I am a work in progress, and YES, I have things to work on vocally – but that doesn’t mean that people can’t still enjoy the music, or that I shouldn’t continue to grow and share my journey.

The only thing I really did find offensive in your comment was saying that…

I know you’re powerful on steemit and a lot of people probably like and compliment you so they get likes back.

This is essentially saying that these people are being “fake” and the only reason they have complimented my music videos is to get likes back. Many of the people who still comment and follow along with my music posts are those who have supported me from the beginning… even when I had a low reputation and no steem power. Were those people being fake in supporting me then too… when I had nothing to offer them back, exception for friendship?

I honestly do think that there is space for constructive feedback and I don’t fault you for giving it.

I'm really happy you don't take offense.. I was really doubting to say this. I doin't want to rain on anyones parade. You look like a warm person... I have to pick my battles. But the fact that I'm saying these things is because I think you got something very interesting and have great potential. I know that saying people compliment you to get likes back is an overstatement of what I was thinking. 'Caus I do think people act this way, in public or on social media. That's why I said a lot of people and not all people. I think your journey is something amazing. And I respect your boldness for just going for it. I wasn't lying when I said that you have the capability to become a great singer. Anyways, I hope you just keep on going. And this makes you just more stronger then you even were before.

Regards and a lot of luck in everything you do! I really mean it.
the lover that looks and sounds like a hater at first

You have a good voice.

Dude, reallly cool. Love that kind of stuff. I'd actually really love to have you on my online open mic. I was mainly doing it on youtube, but decided I need to get in on this steemit thing! Mind if I use a video of yours?

Thank you for a beautiful performance. I enjoyed it very much.