Here's my 1976 Japanese S. YAIRI acoustic guitar, with Indian Rosewood (all solid woods).

in #music6 years ago

a.jpg

Believe it or not, when this baby arrived home many years ago, I get rid of my vintage Martin D28. I'm not kidding.

This guitar was built with:

  • SOLID INDIAN ROSEWOOD BACK AND SIDES.

  • SOLID SPRUCE TOP.

  • EBONY FRETBOARD.

  • EBONY BRIDGE.

  • MAHOGANY NECK.

  • EBONY PEGS.

Basically, the same specification as any post-1969 D35 or D28, but definitely FAR better than any 70's Martin guitar out there. No laminated wood was used!

There are many videos on youtube where you can hear the rich balanced sound and deep bass of this High-end guitar.

A REAL CANNON!

b1.jpg
b3.jpg

For those who don't know about it, Sada Yairi was the uncle of Kazuo Yairi, still one of the best luthiers in Japan today. In fact, Sada Yairi was teaching Kazuo all he should know about building the finest guitars.

t.jpg

Sada Yairi was 70 years old in the mid/late 70's, and he spent his whole life making instruments. He started building violins in 1932 and, later, handcrafted guitars like this S.Yairi YD 306.

e.jpg
e2.jpg
e3.jpg
f.jpg

You can check online that the price of this model on the vintage 1976 Japanese YAIRI catalog was 120.000JPY (901 EUR / 1076USD). This was A HUGE AMOUNT of money for a guitar back in the '70s!!

There were just two highest quality models; the YD 307, with a cost of 150.000JPY (I believe it has 2 piece back, but same YD 306 specs), and the Flagship model, the S.Yairi YD-308, with solid Brazilian rosewood back and sides (200.000JPY).

Tons of good vibes that you can't get from a new instrument!!

g2.jpg
h2.jpg
i.jpg

For all those steemians who don't know about Yairi guitars, go and get one, because they are amazing!! And I've played many D-18 and D-28 Martin guitars, so I know what I'm talking about.

I hope you like the pictures.

Have a nice day people, and keep on rocking!! ;) ;)

j1.jpg
j2.jpg

Sort:  

hehe music is healer for our souls :)

I definitely agree with you my friend. Music is always there.

Wooooaho!! It´s so beautiful!! A real piece of art.

Thanks lady!! Yeah, is quite a piece of art. Happy day! ;) ;)

What’s your favorite song to play on it and why?

There are many many songs I like to play, but to name one, I enjoy playing Bob Dylan's song "It ain't me babe". It was one of the first songs I ever learned, it also has very meaningful lyrics. Thanks for asking, have a great Friday! ;)

That is a nice guitar! Very good condition as well.

Yes, you are so right. I wish you could play it to hear personally how it sounds. Happy day! ;)

Hello @danigancho, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

That's great!! I just followed you, congratulations on the job you are doing. I'll keep an eye on your stuff, have a nice one!!