John Williams: an Amazing Composer

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon! I'm sitting on my trainride out of Los Angeles today and I'm scrolling through my iTunes music selection. And, out of all the music I have on my phone I shrank the section down to two: Star Wars The Force Awakens soundtrack, or John Williams Greatest Hits. I picked the latter choice.

IMG_6602.PNG
Image from.. uh... iTunes on my phone?

The album opens with the ever awesome Star Wars: Main Title that everyone on the planet has heard at one point I think. And the album plays all of the main hits that John Williams has in his catalogue of music. I can just sit here and imagine the new movie scrolling through my mind as each new song plays.... Jaws, Superman, Indiana Jones, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, etc., etc.

Today, the song that I'm repeating is The Reivers: Main Title. When I play this song, the only thing I can think of is the stereotypical western movie landscape. Every time, I picture a wide open prairie as the violins play. When the harmonica begins my mind starts to transition to myself meandering into the dirt covered Main Street on a western town. Then as the banjo and various other instruments chime in I picture the antics going on in the town. Then when the brass, woodwinds, and strings kick in it feels like a montage of scenery going through my mind.

To be honest, this song almost feels like a Disney western song that would play as you walk through Frontierland. If you could romanticize the concept of the Wild West, I think this song would encapsulate it well. It also feels like John Williams was channeling Aaron Copland and other westerns composers when he composed the song. John Williams has proven through out his career how versatile he is and how important music is to life and the soundtrack of any film!

I just thought that this was a great song to share with the Steemit community. The rest of the album is AMAZING!! But, this one song just hits the mark today emotionally. You know how a song plays and you just want to smile. This song is that song for me today! 😊

Thanks for reading! If you liked this read please provide an upvote. And if you like my content please follow me so you can get more. Thank you again for taking the time to read! Have a great weekend my fellow Steemians!

Sort:  

I'm not sure I'm familiar with the specific track you're talking about, so I'll have to take a listen for sure. I've always enjoyed John Williams's compositions, especially Star Wars.

I think one of his less recognizable scores that I particularly enjoy is the score for Minority Report. It's clearly his style but is different than most of the recognizable works you've mentioned.

My all-time favorite track is one from Star Wars that doesn't get played a whole lot. It's Luke and Leia from the Return of the Jedi soundtrack. It's such a fantastic piece.

Anyhow, I could talk about this for a while, but thanks for mentioning this, because now I'm going to be listening to John Williams for the rest of the day.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @drstevegilbert to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts. ??