Why Does a 45 year Old White Guy Love Deceased Rapper Young Pappy?

in #music7 years ago

young pappy.jpg

There’s a lot of killing in Chicago recently.
The city is at a 20 year high with over 1,000 murders.
I’m a normal white guy who grew up with hair metal bands like Ratt and Poison.
When I was really rebellious, I listened to NWA and Ice T, probably just like any other middle-class white kid thinking they were tough in the 80’s.
There was a certain attitude with rap that you couldn’t get with hard rock or metal.
Ice T and Ice Cube spoke about the hardships on the street, the opposition, the drugs, the sex. . .
It seemed more real than buttrockers singing about groupies. . .
I’m now turning 45 next month.
Although, this isn’t a period of midlife crisis for me, or more of a deep, ageless introspection and questioning the light and darkness of humanity.
There is a youthful defiance, almost evil quality to gangsta “drill” rap coming out of Chicago.
Last month, I came across a rapper named Young Pappy.
I watched all his rap or songs mesmerized.
They were fierce, powerful, almost evil.
There was something in him that burned very bright, brighter than Eminem in his day I think. . .
I was sucked into the money and power.
There was no girls in rap songs anymore.
It was purely money or death.
Why in the hell would I be drawn to this?
Did it give me back a little vicarious power that I thought I had in my youth?

This first song was insane, never heard anything like it:

There seems to be more intensity between the light and dark forces on this planet.
It doesn’t help that I watch the best UFO channel on YouTube, SecureTeam10.

Here’s Illuminati’s Men in Black:

Is this world getting crazier?
Or am I just evolving to where my eyes are opening to the energies that be?
Anyways, I love music and apparently there is still something inside of me that craves power, even if it is in the bass of the rap song, or Young Pappy and his crew flashing their guns.
I guess there’s a part of me that wanted to go out fast and hard, like Sid Vicious:

I walked through the Chelsea hotel one time in NYC, where Sid burnt the room in front of Nancy.
I think he wanted to kill them both, or he was just high and felt immortal, like Jim Morrison:

Anyways, after a month of having the images of Young Pappy flashing through my mind with this new rap intensity I never heard before, I finally wanted to learn more about him.
I thought it was odd that all his music was from 2015.
I finally Googled “What happened to Young Pappy?”
I felt pretty sad when I realized he was shot down in 2015.
Well, it makes sense.
Their motto was all about killing before getting killed.
His intensity allowed him to die fast and hard.
I miss him, even though we are totally different. . .
Now, I go back to a regular job and await the next fast flame I can ride on.

What has music done for you?

Sort:  

Congratulations @erikjohnson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! Thank you so much! It's really an honor.

I got home from Iraq, but I wasn't truly home. After almost a month of being on edge and scanning rooftops of pizzarias for snipes there was one night where I found a mixed CD from high school. I couldn't even remember what was on the damn thing but I plugged in my headphones, loaded it, and waited for something to distract me for what was usually a 3 hour wait to try to sleep for 3 hours before I was awake before everyone and waited for the day to start.

I was greeted with DMX. I couldn't even contain myself because I thought all my CD's with DMX were stolen when my car was broken in to. After that I listened to Boyz II Men. Then Ruff Ryders. Jadakiss. I was listening to all my favorites from the late ninties and very early two thousands. It was so great I smiled like I hadn't for a while.

And then I woke up. I had slept 10 hours. The first time I had slept over 6 hours in over a year, the first time I slept over 4 since I'd been home. I was so well rested, all the sore muscles were gone, I had truly been able to achieve a mental peace for the first time since being in Iraq.

Music gave me peace, and clarity, and calm.

That is beautiful man! I remember watching DMX on VH1's "Behind the Music" and at his peak, he was ripped and full of life. Music is such a powerful thing. I love music documentaries and Pandora is playing in the background every waking moment of my life. I had some experiences like you with 36 Mafia, that was some crunky stuff! LOL. Thanks for commenting man!

No doubt, it was a good post on your part, it was well worth commenting on!

I like young pappy and I am 44 year old man so not a crisis... that mean you have taste, that's all. Music for me is life, no music is death so put it really loud.

Nice!