Creative Delays means Creative Upgrade :-)

in #music7 years ago

So I set myself the task of uploading a video a day last week. I thought it really shouldn't be too much bother, and an experiment worth doing to test out various versions of songs and various recording set ups.

The Steemit Open Mic run by @luzcypher et al. has stipulations that entries to the competition should be recorded on a mobile phone. I think this is a great idea, since this is a great leveller. All entries should come out of a comparable quality and the focus is on the individual performance that you are trying to do your best with.

Of course, musicians are not limited to submitting music just via the open mic, so I determined to press on and try out new methods as I went along.

I kind of took over the dining room, and my wife isn't exactly over the moon about that, so I determined to move upstairs and start using a better mic and so on and so on.

Anyways, naturally, that led to some teething troubles with the recording set up. I did a couple of videos where I was really pleased with everything except the sound and the way they looked.

I also tried to use D-tube but ended up using the wrong format, and they didn't work. Life was mocking me.

I felt a bit like this:

All this had come about because of my drive to post a great deal on Steemit, but the upshot was that I didn't post at all, since I was messing about with equipment and trying to implement various upgrages all at once.

However, now the clouds have parted again and I now know how to sort D-tube, I think. You have to use MP4!

I feel a bit more like this:

Next up is getting a slighltly more pleasing sound on these videos via a good mic and soundcard.

Next on the list is crazy outfits of course.

Sort:  

Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
thank you for sharing your post
@nomanijaz

Ha ha, okay, you got it. :-)