Steem Concert Challenge

in #music4 years ago

The ever-rocking @verhp11 has started this challenge and @steevc nominaterised me in his post, so here goes...

First concert: Gillan - Reading Top Rank, 16th December 1981, supported by Budgie
Last concert: Dweezil Zappa - Royal Festival Hall, 4th December 2019 - The "Hot Rats" tour
20191204 Dweezil RFH 20191222.jpg

Best concert: One of these (this list changes daily)...
Show of Hands - The Spitz, May 2006
Oysterband - The Spitz, September 2007
Joe Jackson - Palladium, April 2019
Bob Dylan - Hong Kong Coliseum, February 1994
Elton John & Billy Joel - Sydney Cricket Ground, March 1998
Mano Negra - Glastonbury Festival, June 1990
Jeff Beck's Guitar Shop - Hammersmith Odeon, July 1990
Twisted Sister - Astoria, August 2004
Paul Kelly & Neil Finn - Sydney Opera House, March 2013
Paul Simon - Beacon Theatre NY, May 2011
David Gilmour - Royal Festival Hall, June 2001
Glastonbury Festival 2003 (Black Box Recorder, Julian Cope, REM, The Darkness, Moloko, Super Furry Animals, The Coral, The Polyphonic Spree, The String Cheese Incident, Asian Dub Foundation, Billy Bragg, Doves, Richard Thompson Band, The String Cheese Incident)

Loudest concert: Power Quest at HRH Metal in Birmingham, February 2018. So loud it made my nasal membranes vibrate. Which is not pleasant.
20180217 HRH Metal 20180304.jpg
Seen the most: Show of Hands (25)
20080420 Show of Hands Bloomsbury 20171126.jpg

Most fun concert:
Motörhead - Exeter University, November 2008 (my only ever bit of crowd surfing)
20081119 Motorhead Exeter 20171008.jpg

Next concert: Liz Simcock is tomorrow night's guest at TwickFolk, but my next purchased ticket gig is The Fierce & The Dead in March. Unless I go to Staines Riverside Blues Club next week, or Julian Cope in March...

Wish I had seen: Janis Joplin, Pink Floyd, Frank Zappa, Captain Beefheart, Led Zeppelin, the blues greats of the early 20th century: Charlie Patten, Robert Johnson, etc.

I know @calisay has seen a few gigs...

Sort:  

So many gigs... I have been to quite a few, but I don't have them all logged like I expect you do. There are many for which I have no ticket, shirt or photos. We didn't tend to take photos back before smartphones as you risked losing your camera.

You've been to some damn fine gigs, though - and that's not just TF&TD :)
There are so many gigs where I no longer have the shirts or ticket stubs The ticket stubs used to be pinned to the wall above my bed, before I left home. Then they were slid into record sleeves or CD sleeves. Every now and then one appears, or as happened yesterday, an old Kerrang! article about Rush fell our of "Exit... Stage Left" when I played it to honour Neil Peart (aand then switched to Spotify as the digital remaster is waaay better than the 80s LP).

We have clip frames full of tickets. Scary to think what we have spent on going to gigs :) But life is for living.

I bought a QotSA CD in a charity shop and found an old ticket inside.