You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Penny for Your Songs (5) - Of Elephants and Other Animals

in #music5 years ago

You need to know what bad looks like if you want to really appreciate good in your life, and scars are just a reminder of that.

My (recent) thoughts exactly. Everyone's creating problems where there are none and like to make it out worse than it actually is. Then you hit something truly bad and it doesn't impact the same and you don't complain, you just rewire your brain, in one instant, to focus on survival.
It's like those this is not a drill things, you know?

That's why I like the quote, too.

Sort:  

Ok. I just finished listening to the concert you posted and I'm not quite sure where to start. You have no idea how grateful I am to you for sharing that. I don't know how this guys managed to slip under my radar, but I'm really, really happy that I got to know them.

I'll just share a couple random pieces of trivia. I started watching it planning on dividing it in blocks, so that I could listen to 3-4 songs at a time and not lose focus, and I ended up watching the whole thing for two hours straight. And while I was watching it, I was thinking, you know, about the things that I liked the most, the things I connected with the most or that I liked for some particular reason, so that I could come back here afterwards and politely let you know what I thought. So when Sound of Madness started, with his introduction, I thought "hey, this is definitely a highlight". And then they played Shed Some Light, with that quote that you mentioned earlier (and the lyrics to the song, which were ground-shaking for me), and I though "look at that, another highlight". Two hours and an endless amount of highlights later, I still don't know what my favorite moment from the concert was. I probably would have to write a book about it.

I can tell you that Burning Bright is a song I don't think I'll forget very easily, because it really spoke to me in an unexpected way. If I had to choose a single song, that would probably be it, although it's a hard choice between that one and...like, 5 or 6 others ahah

Seriously, thank you. I really liked their style, too. He has a hell of a voice, and their sound is so awesomely American, which is just one of those things that I am unequivocally attracted to, no matter what. And listening to musicians explaining their music is another thing I just LOVE.

Also, the cover of Simple Man is the best fucking version of that masterpiece I've ever heard.

Oh man, I'm glad you liked it so much :) And that you actually went and watched two hours, based on my recommendation....wow, not a lot of people would, you know.
Yeah, I get what you mean, I've been listening to it over and over for a couple years now and I know most of it by heart and still, it manages to strike a chord.
Nearly impossible to pick one song, isn't it? Especially after you hear their introductions.

I think the concert is just one giant highlight ;)

They're actually playing Milan in December with Alter Bridge :D I know it's far from Rome, you know, just saying ;)

Also, the cover of Simple Man is the best fucking version of that masterpiece I've ever heard.

I know, right? I can't even listen to the original, I keep coming back to this one. Really glad you liked it.

Oh man, I'm glad you liked it so much :) And that you actually went and watched two hours, based on my recommendation....wow, not a lot of people would, you know.

Well, now you know I trust your judgement, recommend with caution :P And hope we never get to talk about books. Or movies! ahah

They're actually playing Milan in December with Alter Bridge :D I know it's far from Rome, you know, just saying ;)

Uhmmmmmm...tempting. Well it wouldn't be the first time, pretty much all of the big bands stop at Milan. I actually have a good friend over there, I crash at his place in these kinds of occasions. Now if only I could distract him long enough from his damned black metal stuff...XD

Oh they're both really great bands and I think Sevendust are also playing? Not really sure on that, but it's going to be a pretty awesome tour, I bet. ;) And as you've seen, Brent is a hell of an entertainer, so I'm sure it'd be a great experience.

And hope we never get to talk about books. Or movies! ahah

Why not? :P I'm sure we could find some shared interests there as well.

Well, you make some really good points. I'll check out the trains for those days and hope I don't have to work :)

Why not? :P I'm sure we could find some shared interests there as well.

Just joking. I know we would :)