You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Penny for Your Songs (5) - Of Elephants and Other Animals

in #music5 years ago

Ok. I just finished listening to the concert you posted and I'm not quite sure where to start. You have no idea how grateful I am to you for sharing that. I don't know how this guys managed to slip under my radar, but I'm really, really happy that I got to know them.

I'll just share a couple random pieces of trivia. I started watching it planning on dividing it in blocks, so that I could listen to 3-4 songs at a time and not lose focus, and I ended up watching the whole thing for two hours straight. And while I was watching it, I was thinking, you know, about the things that I liked the most, the things I connected with the most or that I liked for some particular reason, so that I could come back here afterwards and politely let you know what I thought. So when Sound of Madness started, with his introduction, I thought "hey, this is definitely a highlight". And then they played Shed Some Light, with that quote that you mentioned earlier (and the lyrics to the song, which were ground-shaking for me), and I though "look at that, another highlight". Two hours and an endless amount of highlights later, I still don't know what my favorite moment from the concert was. I probably would have to write a book about it.

I can tell you that Burning Bright is a song I don't think I'll forget very easily, because it really spoke to me in an unexpected way. If I had to choose a single song, that would probably be it, although it's a hard choice between that one and...like, 5 or 6 others ahah

Seriously, thank you. I really liked their style, too. He has a hell of a voice, and their sound is so awesomely American, which is just one of those things that I am unequivocally attracted to, no matter what. And listening to musicians explaining their music is another thing I just LOVE.

Also, the cover of Simple Man is the best fucking version of that masterpiece I've ever heard.

Sort:  

Oh man, I'm glad you liked it so much :) And that you actually went and watched two hours, based on my recommendation....wow, not a lot of people would, you know.
Yeah, I get what you mean, I've been listening to it over and over for a couple years now and I know most of it by heart and still, it manages to strike a chord.
Nearly impossible to pick one song, isn't it? Especially after you hear their introductions.

I think the concert is just one giant highlight ;)

They're actually playing Milan in December with Alter Bridge :D I know it's far from Rome, you know, just saying ;)

Also, the cover of Simple Man is the best fucking version of that masterpiece I've ever heard.

I know, right? I can't even listen to the original, I keep coming back to this one. Really glad you liked it.

Oh man, I'm glad you liked it so much :) And that you actually went and watched two hours, based on my recommendation....wow, not a lot of people would, you know.

Well, now you know I trust your judgement, recommend with caution :P And hope we never get to talk about books. Or movies! ahah

They're actually playing Milan in December with Alter Bridge :D I know it's far from Rome, you know, just saying ;)

Uhmmmmmm...tempting. Well it wouldn't be the first time, pretty much all of the big bands stop at Milan. I actually have a good friend over there, I crash at his place in these kinds of occasions. Now if only I could distract him long enough from his damned black metal stuff...XD

Oh they're both really great bands and I think Sevendust are also playing? Not really sure on that, but it's going to be a pretty awesome tour, I bet. ;) And as you've seen, Brent is a hell of an entertainer, so I'm sure it'd be a great experience.

And hope we never get to talk about books. Or movies! ahah

Why not? :P I'm sure we could find some shared interests there as well.

Well, you make some really good points. I'll check out the trains for those days and hope I don't have to work :)

Why not? :P I'm sure we could find some shared interests there as well.

Just joking. I know we would :)