You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Līgo (Traditional Latvian Folk Song): NEW MUSIC VIDEO, celebration of Summer, Life, Lammas

in #music6 years ago

As a latvian I'm surprised by your work here.
You must be in Latvia at Līgo celebration. It's totally worth it- songs,dance, Līgo cumin cheese, and a lot of beer :)

But about this song- You nailed it. Top noch!!!! Thank you so much, if more people would be like you.
Greetings from Riga :)

Sort:  

Yay, the third Latvian fellow that joins me here :) Can I make a question?
Can you understand me? It was done with lots of respect but I speak no Latvian, I am in fact from Spain, so I hope I do not have the funniest accent, so I was a bit concerned about that. Well the thing is that as a tradition I've been wearing garlands and bathing in rivers in Summer Solstice XD but your country were celebrating this all time alone :). I play the kantele/kokle and well my original music is more film-music fantasy, but I do enjoy traditional music if it has that "fantasy" nostalgic element to it. I befriended a Latvian friend @lindahas and she encouraged me, so I took it as a challenge and well, for all my friends and followers it was unexpected too XD. And yes it's now in my bucket list to do things in life... Celebrate Līgo

Greetings back from Spain, where this was filmed, though I tried to look locations that I thought looked like rural Europe, something I think the celebration has in common. In fact I'm now inclined to make a little version of another Latvian traditional but I can't make the words out clearly yet. I found a version but no lyrics online yet, but well there might be another ;-)

Answer to your question- Yes of course I can understand you very well.

There is a thing- In Latvia living loads of people who can't say a single word in Latvian language, and those people living here already for many years...this makes me respect your work even more, cause I think our language is not the easy to pronounce. I guess it's all about practice. :)

And I thought that video is filmed here in Latvia, that was dope!!! For sure looking forward to see more of your masterpieces.